Mayor Green Inter- Ward kicks off on Sunday at Den Amstel

This year’s 9-a-side Inter-Ward Football Competition to commemorate the 85th Birth Anniversary of former Mayor Hamilton Green is set to kick off this Sunday with twelve matches being played at the Den Amstel Community Centre ground on the West Coast of Demerara.
The annual event will see teams from East Coast Demerara, East Bank Demerara, Georgetown, and West Berbice joining those from the host community in a straight fight for prize monies in excess of $400,000 and bragging rights for the next year.
According to coordinator of the tournament, former national coach Lennox Arthur, this year’s competition is expected to provide riveting action from the start, and teams have begun to intensify their preparation to ensure the fans are given a treat.
Arthur, who has been at the helm of coordinating this tournament since its inception over the past three decades, has said the inclusion of a team with nationals from neighbouring Venezuela has added attraction to the event.
He added that a strong request was made by several officials with knowledge of those players’ ability, and he has been convinced that those players’ skills will match those of the locals, thus making the tournament very competitive.
Among the teams invited to participate are: Bourda Blues, Den Amstel Agricola, Uitvlugt, Sophia and Timehri, all very good teams in the format.

Fixtures for the opening day are as follows:
Sara Lodge versus Kuru Kururu; Goed Fortuin vs. Plaisance; Wales vs. Timehri; Bagotville vs. Soesdyke; Bourda Blues vs. Durban Backlands; Charlestown vs. Gaza; Casa Corina FC vs. Hurry Ate; GT Kanaimas vs. Stewartville.
Winner of game 1 vs. winner of game 3; winner of game 2 vs. winner of game 4; winner of game 5 vs. winner of game 7; and winner of game 6 vs. winner of game 8.
The final will be played on Sunday, November 24, at the same venue. The winning team will take home $200,000 and a trophy; while second-, third- and fourth-placed finishers will receive $100,000, $60,000 and $40,000 respectively.
Twenty-eight teams will participate in the competition.