4 teams advance to semi-finals

The 15th staging of the popular and prestigious RHTYSC/Busta Champion of Champions tournament bowled off on Sunday with four matches in its first round.
This tournament represents the Berbice Cricket Board’s (BCB’s) 28th cricket tournament staged for 2018.
At the Area ‘H’ Ground in Rose Hall Town, Corentyne, East Canje opposed the Rose Hall Town Gizmos & Gadgets Team. East Canje won the toss and opted to bat first. They immediately lost the wicket of Michael Campbelle, dismissed for a duck by former national under-19 fast bowler Sylus Tyndall.
The Canje team never recovered, and were bowled out in 22 overs for a paltry 90 runs. Sasenarine Sukhu with 22 and Harold Singh with 27 were the only resistance encountered by the Gizmos and Gadgets Team.
Shawn Pereira was the most effective bowler for the Gizmos and Gadgets Team with 3 for 26. Junior Sinclair grabbed 3 for 22 and Kevin Sinclair captured 2 for 22. Kevin Sinclair returned to score a brutal 40 from 28 balls, and together with former national player Eon Hooper, who scored 36 not out, ensured the Gizmos and Gadgets Team secure a comfortable eight-wicket victory. Isaiah Thorne and Michael Campbelle took one wicket each for Rose Hall Canje.
Albion Community Centre trashed West Berbice by seven wickets in the encounter at Bush Lot, West Coast Berbice. West Berbice were bundled out for a mere 112 in 20 overs as the Albion spin attack spun webs around them. Keith Fraser with 34 and Rennison Mitchell with 21 were the only resistance offered to the Albion juggernaut.
Albion players David Latchaya snared 4 for 39 and Kevin Umrao took 3 for 19 before Albion raced to 113 for 3 in 19 overs, with Kandasammy Surujnarine scoring 47, Sharaz Ramcharran scoring 43, and David Latchaya scoring 15 as the main batters.
At Port Mourant Ground on the Corentyne, Young Warriors Cricket Club crushed the home team by 90 runs. This match was reduced by four overs due to moisture on the Port Mourant pitch. Young Warriors rattled up 225 for 8 in 36 overs, with Alex Algoo hitting a quick-fire 35, Mortimer Fraser scoring 29, and Ricardo Ramdehol top-scoring with 44. Loyydel Lewis captured 4 for 53 and Daniel Samaroo had 2 for 39 for Port Mourant Cricket Club.
Port Mourant Cricket Club were bowled out for 130 as Ishwar Singh with 3 for 12 and Jermaine Henry with 2 for 30 delivered brilliantly for the Young Warriors. Doorsammy Mahadeo with 18 and Trishan Ramcharran with 15 were the main contributors.
At D’ Edward Ground in West Berbice, Tucber Park Cricket Club defeated Blairmont Community Centre by four wickets. Blairmont Community Centre made 141 all out in 37 overs, with Kevin Jawahir hitting 47, Javed Karim stroking 26, and Marvin Prashad 27 for Blairmont. Veteran Devon Clements captured 4 for 26 while lightning quick Nial Smith took 3 for 18 for Tucber Park.
Tucber Park Cricket Club reached 142 for 6 from 31 overs, with Clifton Lindie top scoring with a crucial 40 while Berbice under 19 batsman Garfield Benjamin hit 39. Steve Deonarine supported with 27. Shabeer Baksh and Seon Glasgow took two wickets each in a losing effort for Blairmont.
In the semifinals, Albion Community Centre and Young Warriors Cricket Club will clash at the Albion Ground on Saturday. Rose Hall Town Gizmos & Gadgets will host Tucber Park Cricket Club at the Area ‘H’ Ground.
The Berbice Cricket Board is planning to host the finals before the festive season, once the weather permits. The tournament, sponsored by the Guyana Beverage Company under its Busta brand, was first organised in 2004.