Anthony races to first place

Annual Seven Seas 11-race cycling…

As the 13th Annual Seven Seas 11-race cycling met rode off on Sunday at the inner circuit of the National Park, Micheal Anthony emerged victorious in the 35-lap School boys and Invitational meet.

In the final event of the day, Anthony finished the race in 1 hour, 18 minutes and 15 seconds, surpassing last year’s winner Alonzo Ambrose’s time by 25 seconds. Anthony was followed by Marlon Williams and Orville

Micheal Anthony (black helmet) pedals on his way to finish first
Micheal Anthony (black helmet) pedals on his way to finish first

Hinds in 2nd and third respectively. Christopher Griffith rode to fourth place while Mark Harris and Raphael Leung finished in 5th and 6th respectively.

In the Boys BMX 6-9 years (2 lap) race, Jose Rodriques emerged victorious as Alex Leung trailed in second followed by John Nigs in third.

Shermin Sampson rode off with the 1st place prize in the BMX Boys 9-12 year three-lap race. Second place was awarded to Jeremih Harrison while Zab James copped third.

Adealie Hodge, Taran Garbaran and Sherwin Sampson finished 1st-3rd respectively in the three-lap boys BMX 12-14 year category.

Stephen Gobin won first place in the 5-lap mountain bike race as Jason Heabery got second.

Briton John won the Juveniles’ 10 lap race while Nigel Duguid rode in second and Raphael Leung in third.

Kennard Lovell won the 5-lap over 50years and was followed by Linden Blackmore and Donald Cranfeild in 2nd and 3rd respectively.

In the U-50years 5-lap meet, Ian Jackson, Lennox Jackman and Bochal Samaroo finished in that order.

National Cycling Coach, Mohammed Hassan extended thanks to the riders who turned out to support this event and encouraged them to continue their good work.

The next cycling meet is slated for August 21.