BCB, BCCDA launch Independence T20 Cup

After an absence of one year due to national elections in May 2015, the annual Guyana Independence T20 Cup in Berbice has returned and was recently launched in the Ancient County.

Members of the organizing committee at the launch recently
Members of the organizing committee at the launch recently

The cricket extravaganza is a fundraiser organised jointly by the Berbice Cricket Board (BCB) and the Berbice Chambers of Commerce and Development Association (BCCDA) and will be played on May 29 at the Rose Hall Community Centre Ground, once a First-Class venue in East Canje, Berbice.
The family event will form part of the calendar of events of the region to celebrate our country’s 50th Independence anniversary.
At a simple launching ceremony of the fourth edition held at the BCB office, members of the organizing committee spoke of the plans for the event.
Ramroop Rajnauth, popularly known as “Danzie”, a businessman and president of the chambers said that his organization is once again happy to be part of this mega event and assure the fans that the partnership with the BCB will only get bigger and better.
He said that funds raised from this event will be donated to the Bal Nivas of Babu John, Port Mourant, orphanages and schools, with the remainder to be shared by the two organisations to continue their work. Rajnauth continued by saying that the BCCDA recognizes the importance of sports in nation building and informed the gathering that over the years, the tournament was successful and he assured the general public that this year will be no different.
Secretary of the BCB, Angela Haniff, said that the tournament will see some changes this year and is to be concluded in daylight. It will be an action packed five-overs-a-side, white balls, coloured clothing tournament, and will involve the top first division teams in Berbice.
The teams expected to compete for prizes of over $200,000 are Upper Corentyne, Port Mourant, Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club, Albion Community Centre, Young Warriors Cricket Club, Tucber Park, Blairmont, Police and West Berbice. The best players in Berbice will be on show such as Devindra Bishoo, Veerasammy Permaul, Assad Fudadin, Narsingh Deonarine, Jonathan Foo, Keon Joseph and young rising stars, Gudakesh Motie, and the first-ever West Indies Under-19 World Cup winning captain, Shimron Hetmyer.
Tournament Treasurer, Chris Hicks, announced that the winning team is expected to pocket $100,000, the runner-up $50,000, while the Man-of-the-Match will collect $10,000. Trophies will also be up for grabs.
A number of other side attractions are expected to form a part of the programme.