Bravo, Brathwaite return to ODI squad

– Rovman Powell appointed Captain

Cricket West Indies (CWI) selection panel has named a 15-member squad to play Bangladesh in three One-Day Internationals (ODIs). The three ODIs are scheduled for December 9, 11 and 14 in Bangladesh.

Rovman Powell

The quality left-handed batsman Darren Bravo has returned to the ODI squad, along with T20 International Captain Carlos Brathwaite. Additionally, Roston Chase, who had been brilliant in the India Tests, has been rewarded with selection in the ODI squad. Recent debutants Fabian Allen, Chandrapaul Hemraj and Oshane Thomas retained their places following the ODI series against India last month.

Carlos Brathwaite

Owing to the absence of regular Captain Jason Holder, CWI’s Board of Directors has approved Rovman Powell as interim Captain, as the West Indies seek to reverse the recent 2-1 home series defeat they sustained at the hands of Bangladesh in July 2018.

Darren Bravo

Chairman of Selectors Courtney Browne said, “With two more ODI series before the 2019 World Cup, the Bangladesh series allows us to narrow our search for our final 15-member World Cup squad. In the absence of Captain Jason Holder, the panel believes the team can still be competitive, especially with the return of Darren Bravo. Darren’s experience will add value to the batting, which in turn will place selection pressure for spots in the squad. The selection panel, therefore, takes this opportunity to wish the team much success in Bangladesh.”
The full ODI squad reads: Rovman Powell (Captain); Marlon Samuels; Devendra Bishoo; Roston Chase; Chandrapaul Hemraj; Shimron Hetmyer; Darren Bravo; Shai Hope, Carlos Brathwaite; Keemo Paul; Keiran Powell; Fabian Allen; Kemar Roach; Sunil Ambris and Oshane Thomas.