CI, Zeeburg crowned West Side T20 champions

Cornelia Ida and Zeeburg registered big wins against their opponents on Sunday to win the West Demerara Cricket Association (WDCA) T20 titles.
Played at Joe Vieira Park, Cornelia Ida hammered Wales in the morning match while later in the day Zeeburg defeated All Youths Sports Club.
In a match reduced to 15 overs per side due to a wet pitch from overnight rain, Cornelia Ida batted first to score a mammoth total of 187-1. Former national junior all-rounder Ashkaya Persaud, who has been in ripping form of late was severe on Wales’ bowlers hitting eight sixes and three fours in an unbeaten top score of 79 while Richie Looknauth  also hit the same amount of boundaries in 77. Omesh Danram was the lone success for Wales with the ball as he claimed 1-29 from two expensive overs.

Anthony D’Andrade
Anthony D’Andrade

In reply Wales faded for a paltry 38 all out in eight overs, with Dhanraj Singh (16) the only batsman to make it to double figures. Looknauth and Persaud returned to cause havoc with the ball, ending with figures of 3-12 and 2-7 respectively. Shameer Khan was also good for the winners with figures of 2-2.
Cornelia Ida won the match by 149 compliments of invaluable all-round efforts from Looknauth and Persaud but it was the former, who was honoured with the player of the match award.
In the second match after being sent in, Zeeburg accepted the good deal to tally 195-7 after 20 overs. Anthony D’Andrade was the principal scorer with 60 while Amrit Rai and Safraz Karim contributed 45 and 31 respectively.
Kelvin Leitch 3-32 from four overs and Imtiaz Ghanie 2-30 from four overs were the chief bowlers for All Youths.
In pursuit of 196 for victory, All Youths were restricted to 167 all out in 19.1 overs, with Ghanie smashing 43 and Sanjay Persaud chipping in with 33. Yutesh Dhanpaul and Mark Jeffers collected three wickets apiece.