Forde Defends CARICOM 10K Title

By Rene Stoby

Cleveland Forde produced another of his trademark run which eased him to a victory in the 12th annual CARICOM 10K road race on Sunday.
Forde completed the race in 32 minutes and 39 seconds to win the event for the third consecutive year and in the process claimed his fifth (5th) title overall. Second place went to Curtis Cox of Trinidad and Tobago (32:56) while Winston Missigher finished third with a time of 33:28.
After the race Forde told media operatives that “he is now focused on running faster times and not on the competition as he looks forward to running sub 30’s”.
Last year’s runner-up Linda McDonald went one better, as she delivered victory to St. Vincent and the Grenadines in the female category with a time of 37:57, finishing ahead of local girls Euleen Josiah-Tanner, 39:46 and Andrea Foster, 40:37.
The CARICOM 10K race which was held under the theme “Promoting Healthy and Peaceful Societies” started outside the Caricom Secretariat, Liliendaal, and headed east along the Railway Embankment Road, then left along the Ogle Road.

Successful participants of the CARICOM 10K with their prizes
Successful participants of the CARICOM 10K with their prizes

The race then took the direction of west along the Rupert Craig Highway and left into JB Singh Road, then into Thomas Lands where it finished in the National Park.
Sixteen year old Ricky Williams continued his impressive showing by winning the 5K boys race, while second and third went to Tyrese Yensen and Joel Williams respectively. In the girls category first place went to Joana Archer second place to Tabitha Benman and third to Kissanna Glen.
Ezekiel DeSouza won the 1500m race that targeted primary school students while second and third went to Khelani Glen and Jeremiah Harrison respectively.
The event was attended by CARICOM Chairman and Prime Minister of Dominica Hon. Roosevelt Skerritt, Secretary General of CARICOM Ambassador Irwin LaRocque and Minister within the Ministry of Education, Hon. Nicolette Henry.
The race coincided with the 37th Regular Meeting of the Conference of CARICOM Heads of Government which will be held in Guyana from July 4-6.