Fruta/CPCE/Nexgen golf tournament a massive success

The inaugural CPCE/Nexgen golf drive, chip and putt tournament, sponsored by Guyana Beverages’ Fruta and Turbo brands, was held on the grounds of the CPCE campus at Turkeyen on Saturday, April 13, and was, by all measures, a massive success!
The no-fee event attracted over 60 players, while food, beverages and snacks were provided at no cost. The result was a fierce competition, with the final scores reflecting the intensity of the teams, as evidenced by roars of excitement as players scored and groans of despair when they failed to achieve top points.

A look at the participants in the Fruta/CPCE/Nexgen tournament

The 4-person teams showed up in team colours representing Regions 2, 3, 4, 5, 7 and 9, and a wide range of ages was represented, from Grade 7 secondary schools (Bladen Hall Multilateral and New Campbellville Secondary) to trainee and graduate teachers, along with community players, all vying for prizes donated by Pegasus Hotel & Suites, KFC, Guyana Beverages, Nexgen Golf Academy, and CPCE.
“This is the first, but definitely not the last golf tournament that CPCE will host,” said Registrar Ms. Kevaun Sears. “The atmosphere was electric, and persons who never experienced golf were blown away by the experience. We are grateful to Mr. Hussain and Nexgen Golf Academy, our sponsors, 2022 PE Majors, and Sirs Stanley Alkey and Kurt Braithwaite who made this possible.”

Some of the action in the Fruta/CPCE/Nexgen tournament

The winners were as follows:
First: Electric Super 4 (Triston Ramkarran; Godfrey Rodrigues; Benicia Charles; Ariana Williams); Second: WildOut (Vanicia Stephen; Veron Wyatt, Amari Harlequinn; Serena Kassim); Third: Foul Assassins 1975 (Carthy Hanlong; Leston Smith; Nicole Braithwaite; Nafeeza Harris).
All Female team: CPCE Registration (Kevaun Sears; Dawn Hiles; Jessica Ali; Alicia Griffith).
All Male team 1st: New Campbellville Secondary (Jeydon Robertson; Mannesseh McDonald; Dustin Jackson, Deeran Persaud); All Male team 2nd: The Golf Giants (Titus Persaud; Seion Harry; Lesle Thompson; Neri Danielle).
Highest individual scores from 1st-7th: Ronick Harvey, Ariana Williams, Godfrey Benjamin, Keshana Ault, Tristan Ramkarran, Javon Charles, Nafeeza Harris.