Gizmos & Gadgets, Canadian Surplus, John Lewis Styles, Da Silva’s Optical among sponsors

RHTYSC 29th Award Ceremony…

On Sunday, April 28, the Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club (RHTYSC), MS, Guyana’s leading youth and sports organisation, will be hosting its 29th annual Awards Ceremony at its Head Office.

Sales Representatives of Canadian Surplus handing over donation to Simon Naidu and Sohan Harry of the RHTYSC

A total of forty club members are to be specially honoured for their contributions and performances on the cricket field and in assisting the RHTYSC to successfully complete over 900 activities over the last fifteen months.
Club Secretary/CEO Hilbert Foster and Asst Secretary/CEO Simon Naidu head the planning committee for the event, and both have expressed confidence that all plans will be in place. This year, a total of $2 million worth of trophies, medals, framed certificates, prizes and gifts are to be shared out, instead of the usual $3 million, because of the Club’s heavy investment in Berbice Cricket and increased expenses on the cricket field due to the large amount of tournaments organised by the BCB.

Managing Director of Gizmos & Gadgets, Ravi Mangar, handing over Smart Watches to RHTYSC’s Hilbert Foster

On Tuesday last, the organising committee received donations from Canadian Surplus, The Gift Centre, John Lewis Styles, Namilco, Factory Price, Da Silva’s Optical, Gizmos & Gadgets and H.A Snacks Co. Ltd.
Namilco donated fifteen hampers and $60,000 worth of trophies, while the Providence-based Canadian Surplus donated a large quantity of educational materials and two coffee makers. Gizmos & Gadgets, official sponsors of the Club’s First Division Team, handed over three Smart Watches; while The Gift Centre and John Lewis Styles donated luxury watches and other gifts. Factory Price contributed 40 medals towards honouring of the cricketers, while H.A Snacks Co. Ltd donated several hampers. Dr. Phillip Da Silva of Da Silva’s Optical contributed financially.
Naidu expressed gratitude to each of the donors, and said that over the last 29 years, the Awards Ceremony has served as an inspiration to club members to perform at the highest level. Club members who receive awards are used by management as role models for younger members.
National cricketers Jonathan Rampersaud, Mahendra Gopilall, Jeremy Sandia, Kevin Sinclair, Junior Sinclair, Clinton Pestano, Shemaine Campbelle, Erva Giddings, Sheneta Grimmond and Shabiki Gajnabi are among the expected awardees.
The 2019 Awards Ceremony would also include honouring outstanding teachers, retired teachers, law enforcement officers and medical personnel. The Club will also take opportunity to make donations to several organisations and individuals.