Keemo Paul gets T20 player of the year award

CWI Awards

– Guyana Jaguars are ‘First Class Team of the Year’

T20 Player of the Year, Keemo Paul, receiving his award from Liam Sebastian

Jason Holder was the biggest winner at the West Indies Players’ Association/Cricket West Indies’ Annual Awards Night held on August 19 in Antigua. He scooped up the ‘Player of the Year’ as well as the ‘Test Player of the Year’ awards.

Shai Hope was named the ODI ‘Player of the Year’ for a second successive time, while seam-bowling all-rounder Keemo Paul was named the ‘T20 Player of the Year’, and 22-year-old tear-away bowler Oshane Thomas was named ‘Emerging Player of the Year’.

Shai Hope has copped the West Indies ODI Player of the Year award for a second successive year

All-rounder Deandra Dottin also won big, securing the ‘Women’s T20’ and ‘ODI Player of the Year’ awards.

Performances between April 2018 and March 2019 were taken into consideration in deciding on the winners of these awards. In February of this year, Holder became the first West Indies player since Sir Garry Sobers in 1974 to become the top-ranked Test all-rounder; and claimed 778 rating points, the highest by any West Indies bowler since Courtney Walsh in 2001.

Jason Holder

In January, Holder made an unbeaten 202 — the third highest score batting at No. 8 or lower in Test cricket — against England in front of his home crowd in Barbados. All told, Holder hit 565 runs in eight Test matches, and claimed 40 wickets, including four five-wicket hauls, during the period.

In 15 innings of ODI cricket, Hope amassed 757 runs at an average of 63.08, including three hundreds and three fifties, during the period. After being plucked out of the CPL, Thomas made his international debut for West Indies in Guwahati in 2018, and added a cutting edge to the seam attack, the highlight being the maiden five-for against England in Gros Islet.

Six months after becoming the No. 1 all-rounder in women’s T20Is, Dottin dominated the awards for women, taking back the Women’s Player of the Year award. In ODIs during the period, Dottin made 207 runs in six innings, in addition to taking 15 wickets with the ball. In T20Is, she bagged figures of 5 for 5 – her best in this format.

Deandra Dottin

Off spin-bowling all-rounder Rahkeem Cornwall, who recently broke into the West Indies’ Test squad, was named ‘Championship Player of the Year’, while star all-rounder Andre Russell was adjudged ‘Caribbean T20 Player of the Year’.

Nineteen-year-old left-arm spinner Joshua Bishop, who was snapped up by Barbados Tridents in the CPL Draft in May, won the ‘Under-19 Player of the Year’ award. (Excerpted from CRICINFO)

List of award winners
* Test Player of the year: Jason Holder
* ODI player of the year: Shai Hope
* T20 player of the year: Keemo Paul
* Emerging player of the year: Oshane Thomas
* Women’s T20I player of the year: Deandra Dottin
* Women’s ODI player of the year: Deandra Dottin
* First-class team of the year: Guyana
* Championship player of the year: Rahkeem Cornwall
* Super 50 player of the year: Yanick Ottley
* Caribbean T20 player of the year: Andre Russell
* Under-19 player of the year: Joshua Bishop
* Under-19 team of the year: Trinidad & Tobago
* Umpire of the year: Joel Wilson
* Player of the year: Jason Holder
* Women’s player of the Year: Deandra Dottin.