Hamilton Green 9-a-Side Inter-Ward Cup concludes May 5 – teams urged to be at venue by 15:00hrs

Following the postponement of the final on April 28 due to circumstances beyond the Organisers control, fans can now turn their attention to the new date which is May 5 (Indian Arrival Day) for the conclusion of the Hamilton Green Cup Inter Ward/Village 9-a-side Knockout Football Tournament, at the Den Amstel ground, West Coast Demerara.
Action starts at 16:00hrs with round of 16 play, before the quarter- finals, semi-finals and final are played and Coordinator Lennox Arthur, the former National Football player and Coach, is asking all teams to be at the venue by 15:00hrs to ensure that there is a prompt start to the day’s proceedings.
The opening salvo of round of 16 action will see Timehri vs Mahaicony, Soesdyke vs Liliendaal, Mocha vs. Charlestown, Pouderoyen vs. Bagotsville, Goed Fortuin vs. De Kinderen, Sophia vs. Bourda Blues, Den Amstel Back Street vs. Zeelugt and Uitvlugt vs. Vreed-en-Hoop.
Teams will be battling for a chance to claim the John Fernandes $300,000 first prize and Prime Minister trophy along with hampers from Ricks and Sari. The second placed team will take away the Courtney Benn sponsored $100,000, third $60,000 put up by Techno mills and fourth $40,000 donated by Ready Mix along with the respective trophies. All the trophies have been sponsored by Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo.
Also at stake are the individual rewards for the Most Goals, who will take home a Dinette Chair from China Trading, while runner-up will be presented with a Lazy Boy chair from AH&L Kissoon, along with the Best Goalkeeper who will claim the Minister of Natural Resources trophy.
Among the sponsors so far are Techno mills, Ready mix, Sataur Gafoor, E.C Veira, BEV Enterprises, BK International, IPA, New Thriving, Ricks and Sari, E-Networks, Star Computers, NAMILCO, Cummings Electrical, National Sports Commission, Star Entertainment, Alfro Alphonso, the Guyana Police Force, GuyOil, Minister of State, Prime Minister and Ministry of Legal Affairs.
Arthur expressed gratitude to all the business entities that have supported the tournament which is being staged in recognition of former Mayor of Georgetown and Prime Minister of Guyana, Hamilton Green’s contribution to the development of this country.
With the involvement of some of the country’s top players, representing their respective villages/wards, the event is playing its part in aiding Social Cohesion among the citizenry. Among some of the players on show are Deon Alfred, Trayon Bobb, Tyrone Khan, Jamal Harvey, Sheldon Toney, Ruel Charter, Leroy Halley and Kenroy D’Aguiar. Uitvlugt’s Trayon Bobb leads the goalscoring category with fpour goals and he is followed by Bourda Blues Adran Aaron, while three players are tied on two goals apiece.
Meanwhile, teams are being reminded that four substitutions are permitted in this format which will see the games being run for 30 minutes broken into two halves of 15. The tournament will be played in the knockout format, with winners advancing to the next round. Sudden death penalties will be used to separate the sides in the event of a draw at the end of full time.
The no offside rule is also in effect. All other rules will come under the dictates of FIFA.