Jaguars draft Vikash Mohan, Reifer retained

WICB Professional Cricket League Player Acquisition Draft

The third Player Draft of the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Professional Cricket League (PCL) was staged on Thursday morning in the Media Lounge on the 1st Floor of the Coppin/Cozier/Short Media Centre at Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados.

The six franchises participated in the Draft through either their Chairman of Selectors or Head Coach.

The first 10 players were retained by their respective franchise then the five additional players were drafted

Vikash Mohan
Vikash Mohan

from the Player Pool with a minimum of 2 from outside the Home Territory. The franchises could have drafted international player (i.e. non-eligible West Indian player) at its own cost but no team went that route.

Last season the Guyana Jaguars retained Ramon Reifer for the second season and opted for Javon Searles-Scantlebury and Ryan Hinds as the new picks. Hinds opted out of his contract for personal reasons while Javon Searles-Canterbury asked for his contract to be terminated. Reifer was once again retained as he is seen as a consistent performer for the Jaguars.

The Jamaica Scorpions retained Guyanese left-handed opening batsman Trevon Griffith while Narsingh Deonarine, another Guyanese was drafted by the Windward Islands Volcanoes.

The new face in the Guyana Jaguars squad is 21-year old Vikash Mohan who plays for Comets in Charlieville. The solid right hander is seen as a good investment a she has shown great promise especially in building innings. The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine Campus student played six matches in the 2016 Nagico Super 50 for the Combined Campuses and Colleges in St. Kitts and Nevis with a top score of 79 against the Leeward Islands Hurricanes. Mohan is also a handy off-spinner who has 5 List A wickets with his best bowling 2/25 coming against Guyana Jaguars. Notably absent from the Guyana Jaguars squad is fast bowler Ronsford Beaton. The Essequibian was also dropped for the Jaguars last home match against Jamaica Scorpions at Providence.

Guyana Cricket Board’s Chairman of Selectors Rayon Griffith represented the Guyana Jaguars at the player draft.

Teams for the WICB PCL 2016/17 season;

BARBADOS PRIDE: Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Shamarh Brooks, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Ashley Nurse, Kemar Roach, Kevin Stoute, Jomel Warrican; Kyle Corbin, Justin Greaves, Kissoondath Magram (Trinidad & Tobago), Preston McSween (Windward Islands), Omar Phillips

GUYANA JAGUARS: Christopher Barnwell, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Assad Fudadin, Shimron Hetmyer, Keon Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Raymon Reifer (Barbados), Vishaul Singh, Veerasammy Permaul; Anthony Bramble, Steven Jacobs, Vikash Mohan (Trinidad & Tobago), Romario Shepherd, Paul Wintz

JAMAICA SCORPIONS: Nikita Miller, Damion Jacobs, Devon Thomas (Leeward Islands), Chadwick Walton, Andre McCarthy, John Campbell, Rovman Powell, Paul Palmer Jr, Brandon King, Marquino Mindley; Trevon Griffith (Guyana), Derval Green, Dave Bernard Jr, Jason Dawes, Nicholson Gordon

LEEWARD ISLANDS HURRICANES: Quinton Boatswain, Nkrumah Bonner (Jamaica), Kacey Carty, Rahkeem Cornwall, Jahmar Hamilton, Montcin Hodge, Alzarri Joseph, Jeremiah Louis, Kieran Powell, Hayden Walsh Jr; Elwin Berridge, Nicholas Pooran (Trinidad & Tobago), Jermaine Otto, Jacques Taylor, Gavin Tonge

TRINIDAD & TOBAGO RED FORCE: Yannic Cariah, Kyle Hope (Barbados), Jon-Russ Jagessar, Stephen Katwaroo, Imran Khan, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Yannick Ottley, Marlon Richards, Jeremy Solozano; Bryan Charles, Sheldon Cottrell (Jamaica), Rayad Emrit, Kharry Pierre, Roshon Primus

WINDWARD ISLANDS VOLCANOES: Sunil Ambris, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Mervin Matthew, Kyle Mayers (Barbados), Kenroy Peters, Liam Sebastien, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith, Tyrone Theophile; Narsingh Deonarine (Guyana), Tarryck Gabriel, Delorn Johnson, Sherman Lewis, Jerlani Robinson