Rain washes out opening day’s play

WICB Regional Girls’ U-19 Invitational T20 Championships

All matches on the opening day of the Regional Girls’ Under-19 Invitational Twenty20 Tournament were yesterday washed out.
However, the tournament organisers, in conjunction with the management of all four teams, have agreed to use the free-day tomorrow (today) to attempt to play the matches that were rained out today.
According to organizing committee member Ann Browne-John condition has improved and it looks like there will be play today. “So far, the weather has improved and it is hoped that it will hold for the balance of the week,” said Ann Browne-John.
The RGU19, which is being staged by the T&T Cricket Board, was made a part of the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) official calendar earlier this year and is part sponsored by the regional governing body.
Barbados Girls’ Under-19 team, under the captaincy of West Indies Women’s opener Hayley Matthews, will be defending the title which they won in the previous edition of the Tournament two years ago.
The Barbadians face competition from Guyana, Windward Islands and hosts Trinidad & Tobago.
Jamaica and Leeward Islands have indicated that they do not have Under-19 girls’ teams at present, but are actively developing squads in a bid to participate next year.

BARBADOS: HayleyMatthew(captain), Aaliyah Alleyne, Isobella Burnham, Chante Carrington, Shai Carrington, DashawnaCurrency, Haniesha Hoyte, Felicia Jarvis, Nikita Jones, Kennedy King, Jade Kirton, Daisha Murphy, Alisa Scantlebury, AaliyahWilliams
GUYANA: Mandy Mangru (captain),  Aleema Arokium, Tasleema Bacchus, Yogeeta Balkishun, Shabika Gajnabi, LafonaGilgeous, Sheneta Grimmond, Russhanna Lynch, Amanda Persaud, Dian Prahalad, Plaffiana Millington, Marian Samaroo, KaysiaShultz, Deborah Vanderstoop
TRINIDAD & TOBAGO: Reniece Boyce (captain),  Shania Abdool, Kajol Dalgir, Renelle Dookie, Reanna Farrow, ArielGajadhar, Lashelle Hamilton, Mikaela Jodhan, Alia Joseph, Anna Marie Perriera, Leandra Ramdeen, Samantha Ramgolam,Kamara Rogoobar, Patrina Walcott
WINDWARD ISLANDS:  Nerrisa Crafton (captain), Akita Alexander, Allyah Alfred, Samantha Cain, Holly Charles, SheneziaDaniel, Taylor Dickson, Kimone Homer, Crystal John, Jephenia Joseph, Qiana Joseph, Ronnette Sanford, Theresa Thomas, Cassie Williams

Wednesday, June 22 Round 1; Trinidad & Tobago vs Windwards Islands – Gilbert Park (9:30 am start) and Barbados vs Guyana – National Cricket Centre (9:30 am),
Round 2; Barbados vs Windward Islands – National Cricket Centre (2:30 pm)
Trinidad & Tobago vs Guyana – Gilbert Park (2:30 pm)
Friday, June 24, Round 3; Trinidad & Tobago vs Barbados – National Cricket Centre (9:30 am), Windward Islands vs Guyana – Gilbert Park (9:30 am), Semi-finals
First vs Fourth – Gilbert Park (2:30 pm), Second vs Third – National Cricket Centre (2:30 pm)
Saturday, June 25,Grand Final; Winner Semi-final 1 vs Winner Semi-final 2 – National Cricket Centre (9:30 am); Consolation Final; Loser Semi-final 1 vs Loser Semi-final 2 – Gilbert Park (9:30 am).