RHTY&SC extends deadline for nominations for awards

Berbicians have been given more time to make nominations to the Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club, M.S

Hilbert Foster
Hilbert Foster

for the fourth edition of the Gregory Gaskin Memorial Berbice Sports Award and the Ansa Mcal Award of Excellence.

Club Secretary/CEO Hilbert Foster stated that the deadline has been extended to the July 2 from the original date of June 15. He noted that the Club has already received a combined 36 nominations for both awards but wanted to give others the opportunities to nominate heroes from their area.

Foster stated that the Ansa Mcal Award of Excellence honours four outstanding Berbicians of service of the highest standard in the fields of Sports Administration, Education, health and Community Development.

All of the nominees shall have to be Berbicians, be positive role models to youths, have completed over 20-30 years of dedicated and outstanding service in the four fields listed above. The Club would like to inform the general public that functioning as a member of Parents/Teacher Associations does not count as dedicated service in the field of education.

The Gregory Gaskin Memorial Berbice Sports Award would see a total of four major awards being shared out. Nominations are invited for the Berbice Sportsman of the Year 2015, Berbice Sportswoman of the Year 2015, Berbice Sports Personality of the Year 2015 and the Berbice Sports Association of the Year 2015.

The two individual sports award would be selected based on outstanding performances during 2015 while representing Berbice, Guyana or the West Indies while the Sports Personality award would be given to the individual who worked beyond the call of duty to promote their sports throughout the ancient county while the Sports Associated Award would honour the Association that organise tournaments and training programmes to promote their sporting discipline the most.

Foster is encouraging Berbicians to submit their nominations before the 2nd of July and could be done via registered mail to the RHTYSC, M.S Office, Area ‘H’ Ground, Rose Hall Town or to [email protected].

The name of the nominator, address, telephone number and email address must be included along with a detailed reason why the nomination was made.