Surujpaul is new Wakenaam CC Chairman

Khemraj Surujpaul was elected Chairman of the Wakenaam Cricket Committee (WCC) when the body held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) and elections on Thursday last at the Wakenaam Community Centre Ground pavilion.
Former Chairman Keval Persaud had earlier resigned from the post owing to personal reasons. Surujpaul was unanimously elected while former Guyana Under-15 and senior Essequibo all-rounder Oyono Sampson was named Vice Chairman.
Nazeer Mohamed was retained as Secretary; Afridi Mohamed will serve as the Treasurer; Devon Rambaran will perform the duties of the Assistant Secretary-Treasurer while Vickram Ramnarine is the Public Relations Officer.
A release from the WCC indicated that the Disciplinary, Selection and Competition Committees will be named at the first executive meeting, to be held shortly.
Surujpaul expressed gratitude to the WCC members for their confidence and urged his fellow executives to work collectively for the development of the game on the Island. The WCC is made up of seven clubs namely Zeelandia, Maria’s Pleasure, Noitgedacht, G Square Cavaliers, Sans Souci, Sans Souci Jaguars, and Good Success.