West Indies Women lose to Australia in 1st warm-up

West Indies Women suffered a 90-run defeat to Australia in their first warm-up match of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Women’s Cricket World Cup played at Lincoln Green, New Zealand.
Asked to bat first, Australia posted 259-7 from their 50 overs. Ellyse Perry top-scored with 62 off 85 deliveries followed by Annabel Sutherland with 54 not out. Stafanie Taylor led her team from the front with the ball, taking 3-51 followed by Anisa Mohammed with 2-45 and Hayley Matthews 2-45.
In their reply, West Indies Women reached 169-9 in 50 overs. Taylor starred this time with the bat, smashing 66 from 128 deliveries followed by Matthews with 24. Perry also starred with the ball taking 2-6, while Tahlia McGrath, Alana King, and Annabel Sutherland all took two wickets each.
West Indies Women’s Vice Captain Anisa Mohammed said despite losing, there were some positives to extract from the match. Mohammed said, “The bowlers bowled really well and we had Australia under some pressure up until the 45th over, but with wickets in hand and a long batting line-up, it was expected they would go after it (our bowling). It’s good to see Staf (Stafanie) getting back into the runs and taking wickets. We just need a couple more batters to get going and come that first game with New Zealand I think we will be ready.”
West Indies will play their final warm-up match against India on Tuesday at Rangiora Oval before taking on home team New Zealand in the opening match of the tournament on March 4 in Tauranga.

Full Squad
Stafanie Taylor (Captain); Anisa Mohammed (Vice Captain); Aaliyah Alleyne; Shemaine Campbelle; Shamilia Connell; Deandra Dottin; Afy Fletcher; Cherry Ann Fraser; Chinelle Henry; Kycia Knight; Hayley Matthews; Chedean Nation; Karishma Ramharack; Shakera Selman and Rashada Williams.
Travelling Reserves: Kaysia Schultz, Mandy Mangru, and Jannillea Glasgow.
West Indies Women ICC Cricket World Cup Match Schedule
March 4: vs New Zealand at Bay Oval, Tauranga
March 9: vs England at University Oval, Dunedin
March 12: vs India at Seddon Park, Hamilton
March 15: vs Australia at Basin Reserve, Wellington
March 18; vs Bangladesh at Bay Oval, Tauranga
March 21: vs Pakistan at Seddon Park, Hamilton
March 24: vs South Africa at Basin Reserve, Wellington
March 30: Semi-final 1 at Basin Reserve, Wellington
March 31: Semi-final 2 at Hagley Oval, Christchurch
April 3: Final at Hagley Oval, Christchurch