2nd annual El Dorado Awards set for Marriott on December 29

Everything is in place for the second annual El Dorado Awards billed for December 29 at the Marriott Hotel, Kingston.

The event is organised by The Caribbean Voice and supported by Save Abee Foundation, Team MMR and Galaxy 21 Communications.wr-reaz

The El Dorado Awards provides a space to recognise the efforts of individuals and organisations, both local and overseas-based, who have made a difference and positively impact the lives of Guyanese, especially the powerless and disadvantaged, while tackling the social issues that negatively affect lives.

The event comprises a cocktail reception, a cultural interlude and the presentation of awards. This year’s honourees comprise individuals and organisations drawn from throughout Guyana and the Diaspora, and include Sattaur Gafoor, Sham Tilak, Dennis Charran, Godfrey Scott, Shabakie Fernandes, Allison Butters-Grant, Jean LaRose, Diane McTurk, the Anna Catherina Islamic Complex, SASOD, Guyana Responsible Parenthood Association, Guyana Cultural Association, Monique’s Helping Hands, Krishndat Persaud, The Makushi Research Unit, Enterprise Youth Development Association, Imam Bacchus and Sons and Shivnarine Chanderpaul.roger-hinds

Among those participating in the cultural interlude are iconic singing star Terry Gajraj; former Chutney King, Roger Hinds; 2016 Chutney King Bunty Singh, Prince Krish; the versatile Satish Udairam and the nightingale, Celia Samaroo.

In addition, there will be tassa and African drummers, and Indian and African dancers and the teenage singing sensation, Haresh Singh.

Popular TV and radio host from New York City, Shanaz Hussain of Shanaz Musical Sensation fame, will co-host the event.