BCB announces 15-man squad for GCB U-19 inter-county

The Berbice Cricket Board (BCB) selectors last week selected a squad to represent the county at the upcoming Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) 2020 inter-county tournament that is set for February 12 and February 14, where Berbice will meet Essequibo and Demerara respectively.
Below is the full statement made by the BCB President Hilbert Foster
“I did not authorise the release of the team as we were not officially informed of the tournament, and I did not want to create expectations and then disappointment. On Thursday, we were duly informed via an email to me and as such, the team is now been released.

Gevon Schultz will lead the Berbice Under-19 team

“The team selected below was submitted by Chairman Balram Samaroo, Surendra Kissoonlall, Winston Smith, and Leslie Solomon. The President merely approved the release of the team. A 15th player was added only this morning by the selectors after the GCB requested an additional player.
“Because this is last year’s tournament, the selectors decided to place special focus on those who were playing their final year at the junior level. Three trials matches at great expense were organised by the BCB to select the team.
“Another Berbice Under-19 team would be selected in March. Players who are on the standby list are hereby encouraged not to be disappointed as they should be in contention for that team. Please keep yourself fit and focused. The BCB would start preparation for the 2021 Under-19 tournament very soon.”
Berbice team read: Isiah Thorne; Rampertab Ramnauth; Ricardo Ramdehol; Seon Glasgow; Marvan Prashad; Shamar Angel; Jonathan Rampersaud; Tyrese Sealey; Chanderpaul Govindhan; Nigel Deodat; Gourav Ramesh; Doorsammy Mahadeo; Aaron Beharry; Gevon Shultz (Captain) and Leon Swammy. Standbys: Collis Noble, Jeremy Sandia, Reyad Karim, Sarwan Chaitnarine, Zeynul Ramsammy, Tomani Casear and Abdul Ramsammy.