Bramble, Singh strike half-centuries on 15-wicket day

On the opening day that saw a majority of poor batting, 15 wickets fell in the final Guyana Harpy Eagles practice match at the Guyana National Stadium at Providence. However, Anthony Bramble and Vishual Singh stood tall and scored half-centuries.

Anthony Bramble and Vishual Singh struck half-centuries

Bramble was unbeaten on 67 which included 10 fours from 90 balls to lead Leon Johnson’s XI 158-5 from 41.3 overs, replying to Tagenarine Chanderpaul’s XI’s 119 all out in 39 overs.
Singh was run out for the score of 50, which had eight fours in 98 balls. He was instrumental in giving his side a 39-run lead. Tevin Imlach (15), Chandrapaul Hemraj (6), Leon Johnson (4) and Akshaya Persaud (0) were the other dismissed batsmen for Johnson’s XI.
Ronsford Beaton, who looked quick and has decided to show why he earned a recall to the team after sorting out his bowling action issues, claimed 2-20 while the probing pacer Nial Smith had 2-17 on day one. He bowled a testing spell to skipper Johnson, who was dropped twice in an over off Smith.

Ronsford Beaton removed Akshaya Persaud

Earlier in the day, the young Chanderpaul top-scored for his side with 22. That innings saw a host of batsmen getting starts but failing to score big.
Wicketkeeper-batsman Kemol Savory made 19, Kevlon Anderson scored 18, Kevin Sinclair made 15 and Smith scored 12. Most of the batsmen had soft dismissals.

Beaton destroys the stumps (Brandon Corlette photos)

Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club versatile player Junior Sinclair continued to press a case for selection. He claimed 4-44 in nine overs while new kid on the block Demetri Cameron had 3-23 in 11 top overs. Keemo Paul had 2-19 while Clinton Pestano had 1-10.

Demetri Cameron claimed three crucial wickets

The action resumes today from 10:00h as Guyana Harpy Eagles continued preparation for the remaining three rounds of the Regional Four-Day Championship from May 18 in Trinidad.
Guyana Harpy Eagles squad: Leon Johnson (Captain), Keemo Paul (Vice Captain), Chandrapaul Hemraj, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Tevin Imlach, Vishaul Singh, Akshaya Persaud, Anthony Bramble, Veerasammy Permaul, Gudakesh Motie, Nial Smith, Demetri Cameron, Antony Adams, Kevin Sinclair and Ronsford Beaton.