Buxton, Charlestown A crowned champions in ABSAA-KFDA Tournament

The Alex Bunbury Sports and Academics Academy (ABSAA) and the Kingston Football Development Academy (KFDA), formerly Kingston Grass Roots Soccer Academy, culminated their Easter Indoor Boys and Girls Community Football Festival at the National Gymnasium with Buxton and Charlestown ‘A’ claiming the U-11 and U-15 titles respectively.
Six games had highlighted the robin-robin competition in the U-11 tournament, the first of which saw Buxton Stars dominating KDFA 2-0, as Jarmarie Phyll led his side to victory with two back-to-back goals.
In match number 2, East Ville comfortably defeated Guyhoc 1-0, thanks to the efforts of Jamal Fraser. In the third match, East Ville were unable to score any goals against KDFA, thus the match ended in a stalemate. In the other fixtures, Buxton Stars and East Ville each registered a goal to have the match end at 1-1. Guyhoc defeated KDFA 2-1, but managed to end their last match against Buxton 0-0 at the end of play. The match was closely contested, as Buxton and East Ville were tied on points at one stage of the night. In the end it was the Buxton side that flooded the field, as they won via a single goal differential. East Ville settled for second, while Guyhoc came in third.
While in the Under-15 division, the other four preliminary matches continued with KDFA drawing with Charlestown ‘B’ 1-1; Buxton Stars defeating Tucville ‘B’ 2-0, and Tucville ‘B’ defeating Charlestown ‘A’ 1-0. East Ville and Mahaica ended in a stalemate as neither team was able to score at the end of fulltime.
The winners of Groups ‘A’ and ‘B’ then advanced to the semifinals, which saw KDFA defeating Tucville ‘B’ 2-1 via penalty shootout. In semifinal 2, Charlestown ‘A’ overcame Buxton 1-0 to book their spot in the finals against KDFA. In the finals, Charlestown ‘A’ won 1-0 via lone goal from Carlos Agard, which was just enough to stop KDFA and give Charlestown the win.
Participation certificates will be given to all players, and trophies will be given to winning teams at a later date.
Some of the entities on board are Pet Shop, Namilco, NSC, Trophy Stall, GFF and ABSAA.