Berbice shortlist 20 players in preparation for U-19 Inter-County Tournament …final squad yet to be announced

The U-19 Inter-County tournament is expected to bowl off on Tuesday, April 30, 2019, and the Berbice players have continued to prepare for the event with a host of trial matches and training sessions.
A 14-member squad is expected to travel to Demerara to participate in the U-19 Inter-County tournament, which will be played in the 3-Day format followed by the One-Day format.
Berbice are the defending champions of both titles, having won them under the captaincy of Kevin Sinclair in 2018.
The 2019 squad looks a powerful opposition, with Guyana U-19 players Alex Algoo, Kevlon Anderson, Junior Sinclair and Kevin Umrao included. Anderson and Umrao are also West Indies U-19 selectees.
The promising players Nigel Deodat, Leon Swammy, Gevon Schultz and Garfield Benjamin are among the other players with Regional experience at the youth level for Guyana. Most of the players in the shortlisted 20-man squad have inter-county experience, and the boys from the Ancient County will look to defend their title successfully with these star players.
The Berbice batting attack will be led by Windies selectee Kevlon Anderson, a right-handed class-act who will be looking to continue his dominance at this level. Dynamic duo Junior Sinclair and Alex Algoo are the first preference openers. The middle order will feature Garfield Benjamin and Kevlon Anderson, while the all-rounder spots are secured by the Tucber Park duo of Leon Swammy and Gevon Schultz.
Former Berbice U-17 players Chanderpaul Govindhan and Fawaz Gafoor are the expected gloves men in the squad. Nigel Deodat and Kevin Umrao are the left-arm spinners, while Melvin Singh, Aaron Beharry and off-spinning all-rounder Seon Glasgow are among the spin options.
Chris Harry, Nicholas Lawson, Leon Swamy, Gevon Schultz and Kevlon Anderson are among the seamers in the squad.
The 20 players shortlisted reads as follows: Alex Algoo, Junior Sinclair, Kevlon Anderson, Leon Swammy, Aaron Beharry, Melvin Singh, Carl Gilgeous, Fawaz Gafoor, Deonauth Persaud, Kevin Umrao, Chanderpaul Govindhan, Nicholas Lawson, Chris Harry, Gevon Schultz, Garfield Benjamin, Nigel Deodat, Jetendra Outar, Shamar Angel, Seon Glasgow and Dorasammy Mahadeo. (Brandon Corlette)