Confident Jaguars square off against Volcanoes on Thursday

Cricket West Indies Regional 4-Day championships

By Brandon Corlette

The defending champions, Guyana Jaguars will clash with the Windward Islands Volcanoes in the opening round of the Cricket West Indies (CWI) Regional 4-Day tournament.

Team Guyana Jaguars

The opening match of the tournament that will be played at the Darren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, St Lucia is scheduled to bowl off from 14:00h today.
Guyana will be led by their courageous captain, Leon Johnson and will be assisted by Vice Captain Vishaul Singh. The Jaguars squad includes three players that represented the West Indies at the Test level, but the likes of Windies A players Keon Joseph, Romario Shepherd and Gudakesh Motie have experience playing different Test nations in 4-Day cricket.

Tagenarine Chanderpaul

The Darren Sammy National Cricket Stadium has different surfaces, but pace is expected to play a huge role across the four days of play. Trevon Griffith has been in form recently, and he will be the first choice opener along with Tagenarine Chanderpaul. The Captain, an elegant left-handed stroke maker, will bat at number three followed by Vishaul Singh. The middle order will consist of Christopher Barnwell, who is a useful bowling option; Anthony Bramble and Akshaya Persaud. The spin department will be led by spin twins Veerasammy Permaul and Gudakesh Motie. Shepherd, Clinton Pestano and Keon Joseph will make up the pace attack.
Meanwhile, former Barbadian Captain Kirk Edwards will lead the inexperienced Windward Islands Volcanoes team. Edwards, a former Test player who was privileged to be the 14th West Indian to score a Test century on debut, is among the few players in the squad with Test experience. Axed Test spinner Shane Shillingford, the former Captain, will offer support to Roland Cato, who is the newly-appointed Vice Captain.

Leon Johnson

The 2017-2018 Regional Super50 star player in the final, Alick Athanaze, a West Indies Under-19 ace batsman, will be among the bright prospects this season. One of the few left-hand pacers in the Caribbean, Delron Johnson is expected to trouble the Jaguars’ batsmen.
The Windward Islands squad reads: Kirk Edwards (Captain); Roland Cato (Vice Captain); Tyrone Theophile; Tarryck Gabriel; Kavem Hodge; Alick Athanaze; Denis Smith (wicket-keeper); Shane Shillingford; Audy Alexander; Ryan John; Delorn Johnson; Ray Jordan; Josh Thomas.
The Guyana Jaguars squad reads: Leon Johnson (Captain); Vishaul Singh (Vice Captain); Trevon Griffith; Tagenarine Chanderpaul; Anthony Bramble; Veerasammy Permaul; Gudakesh Motie; Akshaya Persaud; Christopher Barnwell; Clinton Pestano; Romario Shepherd; Keon Joseph and Tevin Imlach.