Fitness is key ingredient for players

National 15s Rugby training…
– Coach Grant Stewart

In preparation for the Rugby Americas North (RAN) eliminator match that is scheduled for Saturday, February 9, 2019, in the Cayman Islands, the National 15s players are presently involved in intense training sessions.

National 15s players at the training session at the National Park

Speaking to Guyana Times Sport, in an exclusive interview, National 15s Head Coach Grant Stewart told this reporter that the rugby players had undergone training for six days thus far. Stewart highlighted that a few players have not been released from their respective jobs to participate in training sessions held at the National Park, but the squad has been building perfectly.
Throughout the month of December, the team’s focus is on fitness and ball skills until the holiday break is taken before January. After the Christmas break, emphasis will be placed on rugby techniques, whereby the National 15s players will be placed under the microscope. Although a few of the eligible National 15s players are abroad, the players in training are capable of winning the eliminator match in the Cayman Islands.

Head Coach of the National 15s team, Grant Stewart

Stewart added that more players were available on the weekends and practice games were held at the National Park. The training sessions are expected to conclude at the end of January. List of eligible 15s players:
Props – Jacques Archibald; Rondel McArthur, Jason Tyrell, Delroy Gordon, Cloyd Prowell, Malcolm Rhodius, Keyfo Lopz, Ahmad Isaacs, Vallon Adams, Demar Haynes and Selwin Henry
Second Rows – Kevon David, Dwayne Schorder, Daniel Anderson, Kevin Jorden, James Osbourn, Phabian Joseph, Kurt Hunt, Rashad Butcher, Elton Crawford and Grantly Williams
Hookers – Allen Crawford, Rickford Cummings, and Delroy Fordyce
Flankers – Richard Staglon, Jamal Angus, Toby David, Sean Phillips, Glynroy Pool and Kareem McKenzie
Scrum Halfs – Ryan Gonsalves, Osie McKenzie, Daniel Dabreu, and Leaon Greeves
Backs – Peabo Hamilton, Kevin McKenzie, Claudius Butts, Godfrey Brooms, Troyton Brathwaite, Oneal Charles, Lancelot Adonis, Ronald Mayers, Joseph Rahaman, Blaze Baily, Avery Corbin, Akeno James, Patrick King, Kevin Wills, David Felescian, Quayce Kendal, Kesta Mars, Elwin Chase and Michael Barrow (Brandon Corlette)