CPL 2023: Tallawahs, Royals reveal retained players

The players retained by the Jamaica Tallawahs

Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2022 Champions, the Jamaica Tallawahs, is amongst the first two teams to disclose their retained players for the 2023 season; as the clock winds down to the Republic Bank CPL 2023 draft next month.

The Tallawahs, along with 2022 runner- ups, the Barbados Royals revealed their Caribbean player retentions on Tuesday morning.

For the defending champions, Brandon King, Shamarh Brooks, Fabian Allen and Raymon Reifer, who were key players in their championship victory last year, will return to hunt another title with the Tallawahs.

Amir Jangoo, Kirk McKenzie, Shamar Springer, Joshua James and Nicholas Gordon will bolster the Tallawahs’ Caribbean talents, while another regional talent, in Hayden Walsh jr. has been transferred to the Tallawahs.

On the other hand, Tallawahs title winning captain Rovman Powell has been transferred to the Barbados Royals, where he will join well- known faces like Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers and Obed McCoy.

In addition to those four, Rahkeem Cornwall, Nyeem Young, Justin Greaves, Ramon Simmonds and Joshua Bishop have all been retained by the Royals. With regard to the Royals’ international roster, the team also disclosed on Tuesday that both Quinton de Kock and David Miller will be unavailable in August, owing to their National duties with the South African team.

It is expected that the retention lists of the four remaining CPL teams will be revealed in the next few days.

The Republic Bank CPL draft is set for Monday, June 5 2023.

This year’s CPL season will run from August 16th to September 24th and is set to be played in Guyana, St Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago. The women’s tournament will be contested in Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago this year.