Food For The Poor, Sentinel Security, Shemaine Campbelle, Mike’s Pharmacy on board

RHTY&SC 29th Award Ceremony…

The Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club (RHTY&SC) is forging ahead with plans to host its 29th annual award ceremony on May 19.
The prestigious ceremony was postponed from its original date of April 14 owing to a fire at the Club’s office which forced management to push back the event.
The Club’s Awards Committee headed by Secretary/Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Hilbert Foster and Assistant Secretary Simon Naidu have worked over time to make sure that all plans for the ceremony are in place. A total of 80 club members, law enforcement officers, medical doctors, nurses, teachers, students, and retired teachers will be honoured while several outstanding Guyanese will receive the Club’s highest award, The Dolphin Award of Excellence.
Naidu stated that the Ceremony would be a reduced one compared to previous editions, since the Club has been supporting Berbice cricket on a massive scale following the election of its CEO as President of the Berbice Cricket Board (BCB).
The Club on Thursday last received a major boost for the ceremony with donations from Bounty Farm Ltd; Food For The Poor (Guy) Inc; Sentinel Security; Moonish Singh; Mike’s Pharmacy; Shemaine Campbelle; Sheneta Grimmond, and AH & L Kissoon.
Singh, a former office manager, donated financially; West Indies player Campbelle donated a cycle while her Club colleague Grimmond contributed two special prizes.
Bounty Farm Ltd General Manager Patrick De Groot donated four hampers and would be contributing towards the preparation of meals.
Long-time supporter Food For The Poor (Guy) Inc handed over $200,000 worth of prizes while the CEO of Sentinel Security, Noreen Gaskin assisted with $60,000 worth of trophies. Mike’s Pharmacy Managing Director Lakeram “Mike” Singh assisted with prizes worth $100,000.
The CEO also disclosed that friends, close associates, and the business sector based in Rose Hall Town have also been contributing in a large way as they also expressed appreciation for the Club’s contribution over the last 29 years to the development of Guyana’s smallest township.
Naidu stated that among the players to be honoured are Clinton Pestano, who is among the favourites to clinch the prestigious Cricketer of the Year Award; Kevlon Anderson; Kevin Sinclair; Campbelle; Shabiki Gajnabi; Jonathan Rampersaud; Mahendra Gopilall; Chanderpaul Govindan; Junior Sinclair and Grimmond.
Apart from the Cricketer of the Year Award, other Awards to be distributed will be the Under-15 Cricketer of the Year, Under-17 Cricketer of the Year, Under-19 Cricketer of the Year, Most Disciplined Player, Most Committed Player and Worker of the year among numerous others.
Senior Food For The Poor official Jimeel Davis has been invited to deliver the feature address while an invitation would also be extended to newly-appointed Minister of Youth, Simona Broomes.