GAPLF to host AGM on January 19

The Guyana Amateur Powerlifting Federation (GAPLF) will host its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Saturday, January 19, 2019 with the aim of electing new office bearers.
The meeting will be held at the National Racquet Centre, Woolford Avenue, and will commence at 09:00h.
On the agenda is the review of the 2017 AGM Minutes, President’s Report for 2018, General Secretary’s Report for 2018 and Treasurer’s Report for 2018 in

Some of the Guyanese lifters who competed in the 16th Annual IPF/NAPF in Mexico: Erwyn Smith, Frank Tucker, Nairanjan Singh and Carlos Petterson Grifith

addition to the election of the 2019 Office Bearers and any other business believed necessary.
Public Relations Officer (PRO) Runita White, who is one of Guyana’s most upcoming and decorated female power lifters, said anyone who is willing to vote for the 2019 office bearers will have to pay an annual federation subscription of $5000, adding that all members should fully participate in the meeting by attending. She also went on to state that as a competitor while juggling the role of PRO, the year 2018 has been a good year for amateur powerlifting even though the allocation of funds to send athletes overseas has been a very technical issue. The major highlight for the year was Team Guyana carting off six gold medals and three bronze at the 16th Annual IPF/NAPF North American Regional Powerlifting Championship in Mexico City in August 2018. Some of the players included Frank Tucker, Nairanjan Singh, Nadina Taharally, Paul Adams and one of Guyana’s top power lifters, Carlos Petterson Grifith who took the top podium spot in the Men’s Raw Open 93kg category.
While nominations can be made on the day of the elections, thus far no individual has officially indicated they would be interested in contesting for the position. The present officer bearers are President Ed Caesar; Vice President Nadina Taharally, General Secretary Andrea Smith, Treasurer Colin Andrews, PRO/Organisation Secretary Runita White and Committee Members David Gomes, Erwyn Smith and Martin Webster.