GBA serves off tournament for World Badminton Day

The Guyana Badminton Association (GBA) is celebrating World Badminton Day (July 5th) 2022 in fine style, with a highly competitive tournament.

Participants in the Total Solutions-sponsored World Badminton Day tournament

According to the Badminton World Federation (BWF), World Badminton Day strives to “bring people and communities together to experience fun and inclusive badminton through a variety of active, engaging, and innovative badminton events.”
In choosing its event, the GBA opted for a tournament which is the first of its kind locally. Through support from the Total Solutions, experienced players, and even those from the National Sport Academy’s Badminton Nursery, were able to hit the court in the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall this weekend.
When action commenced in the packed Men’s Doubles’ Round 1, Nkosi Beaton & Matthew Klautky defeated Nathan Morrison & Gabriel Felix 21-10,21-5. The latter two went on to the consolation draw, while Klautky & Beaton advanced to the next round in the main draw.
Akili Haynes & Tyrese Jeffrey defeated Haresh Persaud & Vinai Datt 21-4, 21-4, and the winners advanced to the main draw while the losers participated in the consolation draw.
Haymant Cush Ramdhani & Wen Chen defeated Andrew Browne & Jason Stephney 21-8, 21-10, while Mahender & Manav Sharma overcame Raah Russell & Frank Waddell 21-3, 21-17.
Jaurel Hendricks & Matthew Beharry enjoyed victory over Jedidiah Uwagboe & Juan Ferreira by the margins of 21-01, 21-7. Also tasting victory were Verendra Bhagwandin & Anthony Stephens, who defeated Adeeb Zaman & Nikolas Pollard 21-5, 21-6.
Ajave Singh & Matthew Phang overpowered Aiden Bhagwandin & Zachary Persaud 21-17, 21-11, while Marlon Chung & Jonathan Mangra did the same in their matchup against Matthew Klautky & Nkosi Beaton, winning by 21-9 and 21-11.
Meanwhile, Andrew Browne & Jonathan Debidin gained a walkover to the next round in the main draw.
In Round 2, Jaurel Hendricks & Matthew Beharry defeated Mahender & Manav Sharma, 21-11, 21-4.
Over in the Women’s Division, Priyanna Ramdhani & Ambika Ramraj teamed up for a 21-3, 21-7 victory over Alima & Asiya Eastman. Ayanna Watson & Emelia Ramdhani defeated Deandra Assing & Jayde DaSilva 21-13, 21-7; while Priyanka Shivanth & Mishka Beharry overcame Naveah Eastman & Malia Hayley 21-0, 21-4.
Also in winners’ row were Christina Kumar & Anna Perreira, who defeated Alyssa Dick & Naiomi Persaud 21-6, 21-6.
The first game in Round 2 of the Women’s Doubles saw Christina Kumar & Anna Perreira becoming victorious against Miskha Beharry & Priyanka Shivnath 21-14, 21-9.

Results in the Singles’ categories read:
Boys Under-11 Singles
Lester Thomas defeated Ashton Ramdhani 21-13
In semifinals, John Thomas defeated Lester Thomas 21-8,
and Francis Thomas defeated Francis Manvir Sharma 21-17
Girls Under-11 Singles
Eva Bowling defeated Kristen Bowling 21-4
Under-15 Boys Singles
Adeeb Zaman lost to Nikolas Pollard 7-21, 21-13, 21-16.
John Thomas lost to Nathan Morrison 21-18, 21-16.
Jaquan Nedd lost to Gabriel Felix 21-15, 21-9.
Under-15 Girls Singles
Genieve Bookram lost to Malia Hayley 21-15, 21-9
Mishka Beharry defeated Malia Haley 21-5, 21-4 in the semi-finals. Naveah Eastman defeated Himanshi Kumar in the semi-finals 21-8, 21-11 retired
Under-19 Boys Singles
Round 1
Zachary Persaud defeated Jedidiah Uwagboe 21-18, 19-21, 21-19. Raah Russell defeated Vinai Datt 21-9, 21-23. Frank Waddell defeated Juan Ferreira 21-17, 21-19.
Round 2
Matthew Beharry defeated Zachary Persaud 21-5, 21-5
Jonathan Robinson defeated Raah Russell 21-15, 21-11
Manav Sharman defeated Haresh Persaud 21-10, 21-8
Frank Waddell defeated Jonathan Debidin 21-8, 21-12
Girl’s Under 19 Singles
Round 1
Naveah Eastman defeated Genieve Bookram 21-5, 21-8
Alima Eastman defeated Malia Haley 21-12, 21-12. Alyssa Dick gained a walkover from Himanshi Kumar.
Round 2
Mishka Beharry defeated Naveah Eastman 21-4, 21-10
Under-23 Boys Singles
Nkosi Beaton defeated Manav Sharma 21-5, 21-12. Akili Hayens defeated Jonathan Debidin 21-14, 21-7. Tyrese Jeffrey defeated Ajave Singh 21-9, 21-7.
Under-23 Girls Singles
Alyssa Dick defeated Alima Eastman 21-10, 21-7. Mishka Beharry defeated Jayde DaSilva 21-10, 21-7. Priyanna Rmadhani and Priyanka Shivnath gained a bye to the next round.