GHB select male and female training squads for Canada Indoor Series

In anticipation of their upcoming Canada Indoor Series, scheduled for Toronto from March 22nd to 24th, the Guyana Hockey Board (GHB) have selected their training squads for the indoor series.
Both the male and female national teams have been invited by Hockey Canada to compete in a four-team competition as part of both countries’ preparations for the 2020 Indoor Pan American Cup.
The GHB have already kicked off their 2019 national programme of activities with the indoor developmental men’s team tour of Trinidad & Tobago, where they placed 4th in the Ventures and 3rd in the UWI Indoors respectively. GHB President Philip Fernandes explained the board’s approach to selection of the squads.
“Consistent exposure to the intensity of international competition is an area we

The 2017 National Indoor Men’s Team

have identified as lacking in the development of our national players. So opportunities like these have to be used to invest in the players that will benefit most from the experience. We have decided to select young squads of predominantly under-30 players who will be around for the next two to three Indoor Pan American Cups in 2020, 2022 and 2024. There are still a few experienced players included in the squads to provide leadership, but this tour is about exposure. Later this year, we will be competing in the outdoor Pan American Challenge, and the selection for those teams will be strictly performance-based, since it’s a continental tournament where we earn world ranking points.”
Five members of the indoor developmental men’s team that competed in the Ventures and UWI tournaments (Warren Williams, Nandalall Persaud, Samuel Woodroffe and Nickel Ashby) have indicated that they are unavailable for squad selection due to their academic commitments leading up to their CSEC examinations.

26 Member Women’s Indoor Training Squad
Latacia Chung, Minsodia Culpepper, Nicole Eastman, Marisha Fernandes, Marzana Fiedtkou, Trisha Woodroffe, Alysa Xavier(GK), Gabriella Xavier, Abosaide Cadogan, Madison Fernandes, Briawna Gordon (GK), Makeda Harding, Sarah Klautky, Jessica Mittelholtzer (GK), Dacia Woodroffe, Kezia Chinian, Tekeisha Deleon, Donyale Nurse (GK), Mariah Seegobind, Charlia Webb, Aneesa Permaul (GK), Kenisha Wills, Julia Gouveia (GK), Candace Glen, Bushani Kaladeen and Akeaba Singh.

23 Member Men’s Indoor Training Squad
Medroy Scotland (GK), Michael Hing (GK), Steven Xavier, Mark Sargeant, Kareem McKenzie, Meshach Sargeant, Robert France, Rayon Branford, Andrew Stewart, Jamarj Assanah, Aroydy Branford, Leon Bacchus, Tivesarid Garnett, Shomere Garnett, David Williams (GK), Paul D’Andrade (GK), Jael Gaskin, Omar Hopkinson, Dominic Alleyne, Stefan King, Hilton Chester, Hilmar Chester and Troy Hodge.