Huis T’ Dieren crowned champions of Essequibo’s Future Warriors

By the slightest of margins but one that was well-deserved, Huis T’ Dieren Primary became champions of the Future Warriors Primary School Tapeball tournament (Essequibo), powered by ExxonMobil.
Huis T’ Dieren, Mainstay Lake Primary and 8th of May Primary were tied on points in the round-robin finals held at the Imam Bacchus ground, Affiance, on Sunday.
All three teams had one win and a loss in the eight-over-per-side contest, but Huis T’ Dieren won the title with a superior net run rate of 0.640, followed by Mainstay (0.234) and 8th of May (—0.965).
In the first match of the day, the champions breezed the target of 52 in just 5.3 overs with all wickets intact against 8th of May.
Twenty-six extras aided 8th of May as Joshua Isaacs (13) top-scored and Aaron DaCosta bagged 3-11 from his two overs.

Part of the action on day two at the Imam Bacchus Ground

DaCosta returned to smash 21 (3x4s) from 12 balls, supported by Lokeraj Persaud (17*).
The talented DaCosta scored 22 (3x4s: 1x) from 13 balls in the second match against Mainstay, but apart from 14 extras, no other player reached double figures, and the team posted 44-6.
However, their bowlers were not as accurate as before, and extras mounted to 22, along with Kirt Allen’s 10 from five balls, sealed a six-wicket win for Mainstay.
The tie on points came when 8th of May defeated Mainstay by five wickets as they aced the chase of 57 in 7.2 overs.
Benjimyah Fordyce played a captain’s innings, scoring 22 (1×4;3x6s) from nine balls despite the efforts of Navendra Madholall (3-15) and Jasiel DeJonge (2-9).
Huis T’ Dieren Lokeraj Persaud (76 runs) and Aaron DaCosta (seven wickets) topped the individual charts, and their side also received numerous pieces of cricket equipment.
In September, the Essequibo unit will compete in the Champions of Champions tournament with Stella Maris Primary (Demerara) and Cropper Primary (Berbice).
The winner of that event will be ‘adopted’ by the Guyana Amazon Warriors during their home leg of the 2024 Republic Bank Caribbean Premier League.
FL Sport organised the tournament.