Massiah Primary win UCCA Inter Primary Schools Cricket Competition

Massiah (NO 71) showed their class to defend their title in the Upper Corentyne Cricket Association’s (UCCA’s) Inter Primary Schools 10 overs’ softball cricket competition which was played last Friday at the Crabwood Creek Cricket Ground.
The competition, which was sponsored by Devendra Ramgoolam of R and R Auto Rental Service of the Upper Corentyne, saw 14 teams taking part in the competition, which was an increase from last year. In the first semifinal, the winner of zone one, Crabwood Creek Primary, took on the winner of zone three, Leeds (NO 15) Primary. CWC won the toss, batted first, and scored 130 off their allotted ten overs, with Andrew Persaud scoring 85. Leeds, in reply, were only able to accumulate 43 all out, with Jason Achree taking 3-16 to give CWC an 87-run victory to book their spot in the finals.

Part of the proceedings in the handing over ceremony to champions Massiah Primary

In the second semifinal, defending champions Massiah Primary hammered Lesbeholden Primary by 110 runs. Batting first, the defending champions posted 153-3 in 10 overs, with Akram Assad top scoring with 83 and Hoopchand Dhanraj scoring 30. In reply, Lesbeholden were bowled out for 43, with Airon Yacoob bagging 3-12 and Akram Assad 3-16.
In the grand final between Massiah and arch-rivals Crabwood Creek, Massiah won the toss and elected to bat first. They were able to score 109-4 in their 10 overs, as Divesh Ramkissoon blasted an unbeaten 54. He was also given support by Akram Assad 24, and Dharmindra Persaud, 20. Bowling for CWC, Lionel Seegobin took 2-14.
In response, CWC were restricted to 80-5, as Jason Achree was the only one to top score with 20. Bowling for Massiah were Airon Yacoob with 2-20, and Akram Assad with 2-16 to help the defending champions retain their title.
Massiah Primary thus received a $25,000 gift voucher, while CWC received a $20,000 gift voucher. These vouchers will go to the players to purchase stationary and school supplies at Office Express. The competition was coordinated by the Executive of the UCCA, Dennis De Andrade, Sidney Jackman, Lakeram Latchman, Deodat Thakurdin, Lawrence Mentis, Chatterpaul Lionel and Narendranauth Bairam.
The Inter secondary school hardball competition is set to commence soon, as well as the 40 overs second division competition for teams in the Upper Corentyne.