Missigher defeats Forde in Independence 10K

First Lady, Mrs. Sandra Granger, on Sunday morning, opened the 5 and 10 kilometers Independence Golden Jubilee Road Race hosted by the Athletics Association of Guyana in collaboration with the Ex-Athletes group, which is based in the United States of America.
The five kilometers race featured runners under 16 years of age and the 10 kilometers featured those between the ages of 16 and 20 years.
Mrs. Granger, who was warmly received by the participants, sponsors and organisers, fired off the starting shot for the senior runners at the junction of Carifesta Avenue and Camp Street and for the junior runners near the entrance of the National Park on Carifesta Avenue. Both races ended at the entrance to the Guyana National Service Sports Ground, also on Carifesta Avenue.
Mr. David Thomas, one of the overseas-based sponsors said the group members were pleased “to give back” and are considering a number of other ways to provide further assistance to the youth.
He also noted that providing the opportunity for the athletes to showcase their talent internationally may result in them being offered scholarships, further helping them to become productive citizens.
Meanwhile, member of the Ex-Athletes group and the brain child of the event, Ms. Burgette Williams-Forde said the group was particularly proud to have been able to host the event free of cost to participants.
She recalled that she first entered the GNS Ground as a 15-year-old and was later named Sportswoman of the Year and Athlete of the Year in 1984.
Winston Missigher ran a brilliant race to defeat Guyana’s best distance runner Cleveland Forde in a time of 32 minutes and 46 seconds. Ford, returning from injury did just enough to hold off namesake Cleveland Thomas by just a second finishing in a time of 32:24. Nathaniel Giddings and Odwin Tudor finished 4th and 5th respectively.
Euleen Josaih-Tanner won the female 10K in 39 minutes and 27 seconds followed by Ashanti Scott and Tiffany Bishop.
Colin Mercurious won the male masters in 35:35 ahead of Guiltermo Odenhout and Gary Hartog while the female masters was won by Cyrline Phillips in 49:12 followed by Carla Benjamin and Donna Tai.