Rotary Club elects new Board of Directors

The Rotary Club of Georgetown has officially bid farewell to its old Board and has elected a new Board of Directors.

At a ceremony held at the Marriott Hotel, Georgetown, the Club inaugurated its

The new Board of Directors

59th President.

Elected as President is Clyde De Haas and serving alongside him is Harrinand Persaud.

Peter Peroune was elected to serve as Vice President and elected as Immediate Past President is Lisa Foster.

The Club’s new serving Secretary is Alvina Rambarran, and Treasurer, George Edwards. The Committee Directors are Amanda Persaud (Administration); Roger Harper (Foundation); Ariane Mangar (Public Relations); Pearson Burch Smith (Service Projects); Ramona Singh (Membership); Natasha Backer (New Generations) and Sergeant-at-Arms Harryram Parmesar.

After being elected, President De Haas expressed that the new Board would “make a difference through the expanse of youth and the wealth of experience”.

He gave reassurance that the new board will fulfil its mandate that is to strengthen communities through their various projects.

The Rotary Club of Georgetown will also be involved in projects in new and underserved areas, including the drilling of a new water well in the community of Old England in Linden.

Additionally, the Club will be distributing maternity care packages, as well as undertaking a community outreach programme in the Yarrowkabra area, the refurbishment of a toy library at the Linden Branch of the National Library, and the construction of a walkway for the children at the Bal Nivas Children’s Shelter in Berbice.

The Club is calling for continued support from its supporters and thanked those that have made contributions throughout the years.