“Shepherd is one of the better death bowlers in the Caribbean”— Coach Simmons

By Brandon Corlette

Guyana’s Romario Shepherd has played seven International matches for the West Indies, after he recorded some consistent performances for the Guyana Jaguars and the Guyana Amazon Warriors.

Shepherd is all smiles in a practice
session in New Zealand

A slingy fast bowler, Shepherd is known for his skilled death bowling, and he served as the perfect replacement for death-bowling specialist Dwayne Bravo.
West Indies Head Coach Phil Simmons, responding to a question posted by this daily publication, said Shepherd is expected to play a role similar to what he played for the Amazon Warriors in the Hero Caribbean Premier League.
“He is one of the players who have done well for Guyana, especially in CPL; and he bowls well at the top. He is one of the better death bowlers in the Caribbean, and that is the role he will have to play in the team,” Simmons said.
Shepherd has bowled in 19 innings for the Amazon Warriors, and has taken 23 wickets at an average of 20.6 and an economy rate of 8.1. With the bat, he has only made 89 runs, but packs a punch as a lower-order batsman with a strike rate of 158.9.
“We have seen him hit the ball a few times, but we hope, in this team, he does not get that opportunity too often,” Simmons shared.
The seasoned Head Coach is hoping that Shepherd keeps working, and be one of the best in the business.

West Indies Head Coach Phil Simmons

Shepherd made his international debut last year against Afghanistan, and received his cap from the same Bravo. He has played five One-Day Internationals and two T20 Internationals (T20Is). In the 2020 CPL, Shepherd grabbed just six wickets, and scored 15 runs from eight matches for the Guyana Amazon Warriors; but, over the years, he has shown his ability.
West Indies T20 Squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Fabian Allen, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Shimron Hetmyer, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr. and Kesrick Williams.