Smartt set to lead star-studded Berbice team

GCB senior female inter-county tournament…

– squads ready for Sunday’s clash

The Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) senior female inter-county tournament is scheduled to bowl off today at 09:30h, with two matches. Earlier this week, the vibrant Hilbert Foster-led Berbice Cricket Board (BCB) announced the Tremayne Smartt-led Berbice team. The 33-year-old Smartt will be leading a team that consists of former Windies left-arm seamer, Erva Giddings and Windies selectee, Sheneta Grimmond.
Berbice will open their inter-county campaign against Essequibo at Lusignan, while Demerara will meet the Shabika Gajnabi-led Guyana Under-19 select team at

Tremayne Smartt

Bourda (GCC). The all-star Berbice team that will be missing West Indies stalwart, Shemaine Campbelle, who is currently playing in the tour of Pakistan.
The Berbice team consists of Rose Hall Canje’s very own, Ashmini Munisar, who has dominated the GCB Female Franchise Under-17 Secondary School’s T20 League. Apart from the newcomers, the experienced campaigners in Melanie Henry, Plaffiana Millington, and Subrina Munroe will offer support to Smartt.
Cricket West Indies (CWI) Level-3 Coach, Winston Smith is appointed as coach of the team while Sylvina Autar is was appointed manager. Along with the 14 players selected for the Berbice female senior team, six Berbicians were selected in the Guyana select Under-19 team that will be led by the talented West Indies Women’s selectee, Shabika Gajnabi.
The GCB cricket calendar year will commence with the 2019 GCB Senior Female Inter-County Tournament. The 50-over format is scheduled to be the first event, and will commence today and conclude on Tuesday, February 5; while the T20 format bowls off on Thursday, February 7 and concludes on February 10.
Berbice Full Squad reads: Tremayne Smartt (captain), Erva Giddings (vice captain), Marian Samaroo, Russhanna Lynch, Plaffiana Millington, Sherica Campbelle, Melanie Henry, Kimmone Thomas, Aleema Arokium, Sheneeta Grimmond, Subrina Munroe, Ashmini Munisar, Abigail Kishun, Dian Prahalad.
Select Under-19: Shabika Gajnabi (captain), Mandy Mangru, Sarah Amin, Chirta Mohabir , Casey Charles, Cherry Ann Fraser, Roshin Budhu, Amadevi Matadin, Lafona Gilgeous, Africa Gentle, Ariana Buckan, Shemika Edwards, Shanaya Fraser, Reneka Liverpool, and Navina Ramnauth. The team is led by Manager Stimbiso Williams and coach Latchamn Yadram.
Essequibo: Althea Newark, Estelle Lewis, Kumarie Persaud, Roxanne Hendricks,

Erva Giddings

Divine Ross, Morika McPherson, Petra Hoppie, Aniliza D’Aguiar, Oneissia Stoby, Maria Anthony, Lisa Charles, Navika Narine, Laveena Ragubier, and Tramaine Charles. This team is managed by Verna D’Aguiar while Forbes Daniel serves as the team coach.
Demerara: Akaze Thompson, Heema Singh, Joanna Vansertima, Lashana Toussaint, Keisha Fraser, Kaysia Schultz, Haseena Mohamed, Latoya Smith, Tamica Wilson, Odassa Oneil, Sangeeta Sawh, Tillya Madnamoodoo, Aryan Kassan, and Shazana Majeed. This team is led by coach Bharat Mangru and managed by Abina Parker.