The “Biggest Party in Sport” gets more exiting

– 2 playoff matches to be hosted at Providence

On August 8, the Biggest Party in Sport – the Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) –will commence with the grand opening ceremony at the Queen Park Oval in Trinidad and Tobago. The opening game is set to bowl off immediately after the opening ceremony.
While it is anticipated that the opening ceremony and first match will draw a large Trinidadian audience on September 8, Guyanese are also ready to party at the 2018 edition of the tournament. And yes, there is a lot to celebrate and be excited about. Guyana will not only host five of the preliminary matches, but an addition two matches in the playoff round.
On August 8, the Guyana Amazon Warriors will take on the St Kitts and Nevis Patriots; while on August 11, the Guyanese squad will take on the St Lucia Stars; followed by the Guyana Amazon Warriors taking on the Barbados Tridents on August 12.
On September 8, the Jamaica Tallawahs will play against the Guyanese team and then again on September 9, the Tribago Knight Riders will be in the house. With those matches gone, the focus will then be shifted to the playoff. Guyana is all set to accommodate two playoff matches on September 11 and 12.
With all the matches now set, it time for the party to commence. Guyanese from all walks of life will undoubtedly flock the ticketing office at Camp and Quamina Streets to purchase those tickets early and avoid the rush. Tickets will be available shortly but the hardcore cricket fans can log onto the CPL website and get their tickets early.
This time around, there will be more excitement as before and Guyanese are known for their tremendous support to the tournament. Meanwhile, while you are picking up those tickets, make sure to pick up your hats, bandanas, jerseys and other items at the merchandise section of the ticketing office.
One of the main attractions at this year’s competition will be the “catch a ball, win cash prizes” initiative. It was done initially but it is back with a bang. On this note, we are calling all Warriors to make sure they are ready and waiting to roar as the Guyana-owned team take on the best of the best at the Guyana National Stadium.
While some might have their preference to win the tournament, the seven days will be fun to the max. It’s a time when Guyanese show the rest of the Caribbean, “how we party”.
It’s one competition and six teams vying for supremacy and will run from August 8 to September 16.

The full squads are as follows:
Guyana Amazon Warriors Squad: Akshaya Persaud, Cameron Delport, Chadwick Walton, Devendra Bishoo, Gajanand Singh, Imran Tahir, Jason Mohammed, Keemo Paul, Luke Ronchi, Rayad Emrit, Romario Shepherd, Roshon Primus, Saurabh Netravalkar, Sherfane Rutherford, Shimron Hetmyer, Shoaib Malik, Sohail Tanvir, Veerasammy Permaul

Jamaica Tallawahs Squad: Andre McCarthy, Andre Russell, David Miller, Elmore Hutchinson, Glenn Phillips, Imad Wasim, Johnson Charles, Kemar Roach, Kennar Lewis, Krishmar Santokie, Kristian Kallicharran, Oshane Thomas, Ross Taylor, Rovman Powell, Samuel Badree, Shahid Afridi, Steven Jacobs, Steven Taylor

Barbados Tridents Squad: Jason Holder (captain), Ashley Nurse, Dominic Drakes, Dwayne Smith, Hashim Amla, Imran Khan, Junaid Khan, Mark Deyal,Martin Guptill, Nicholas Pooran, Raymon Reifer, Roston Chase, Shai Hope, Shakib Al Hasan, Shamar Springer, Sunny Sohal, Tion Webster, Wahab Riaz

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots Squad: Alzarri Joseph, Ben Cutting, Brandon King, Carlos Brathwaite,Chris Gayle, Devon Thomas, Evin Lewis, Fabian Allen, Graeme Cremer, Ibrahim Khalil, Javil Glenn, Jeremiah Louis, Mahmadullah Reyad, Sandeep Lamichhane, Shamarh Brooks, Sheldon Cottrell, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tom Cooper

St Lucia Stars Squad: Andre Fletcher, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Christopher Lamont, Darren Sammy, Dasun Shanaka, David Warner (replaced D’Arcy Short), Jaskaran Malholtra, Kaveem Hodge, Kesrick Williams, Kieron Pollard,Lendl Simmons, Mitch McCleneghan, Niroshan Dickwella, Obed McCoy, Odean Smith, Qias Ahmad, Rakheem Cornwall, Rumman Raees, Hussain Talat

Trinbago Knight Riders Squad: Amir Jangoo, Anderson Phillips, Brendon McCullum, Chris Lynn, Colin Munro, Darren Bravo, Denesh Ramdin,Dwayne Bravo, Hamza Tariq, Javon Searles, Shannon Gabriel (Junior Dala’s replacement), Kevon Cooper, Khary Pierre, Nikita Miller, Ronsford Beaton, Fawad Ahmed (Shadab Khan’s replacement), Sunil Narine, and Terrence Hinds.