Tucber Park win nail- biting grand finale

On a day blessed with cloudless skies, Tucber Park of New Amsterdam prevailed over Rose Hall Town Bakewell by 6 runs in the final of the 2015 New Building Society Limited sponsored 40-over second division cricket competition for teams in Berbice. As expected, the game which was played at the Mecca of Berbice cricket, the Albion Sports Complex, went down to the wire and was decided in the final over.
Rose Hall Town Bakewell won the toss and strangely choose to field in scorching heat. Ameer Seecharran and national under 17 batsman Steve Deonarine opened the batting for Tucber Park and together put on 40 runs for the first wicket in 12 overs before the former went stumped by former national senior wicketkeeper/batsman Delbert Hicks off left arm spinner Ravi Narine for 7.
Another former national youth wicket/keeper batsman, Hakeem Hinds joined forces with Deonarine and batted beautifully for a partnership of 51 before Hinds threw his wicket away for 27. In came young all-rounder Chetram Persaud who ran well between the wickets with Deonarine to put on 45 for the third wicket before he went for 31. All along Deonarine stood like a rock.
In the quest for quick runs, Tucber Park lost wickets regularly and ended on 190 for 7 in their allotment of 40 overs. Deonarine top scored with a responsible 64 (5×4). Narine was Rose Hall Town Bakewell’s best bowler with 2 for 35 off his allotment of eight overs with Collis Butts, Khemraj Mahadeo and Michael Rengasami picking up a wicket each.
In reply, RHT Bakewell lost Berbice under 19 skipper Brandon Prashad for nought in the first over off former national under 19 pacer Niall Smith. Captain James Fraser, a former Berbice senior opener joined opener Surendra Kissoondyal and together they put on 34 for the second wicket before national under 19 all-rounder Joel Seitaram caught Fraser in two minds to bowl him for 11. The hard hitting Mahadeo joined Kissoondyal but did not last long. He was caught at backward point off Seitaram for 10.
Hicks came to the crease but then lost his partner for a labored 23. Rengasami came and went for 10 with his team in trouble. However, Hicks was joined by Narine who took the attack to the bowlers, mixing solid defense with calculated aggression. They put on 47 for the sixth wicket before national under 15 all-rounder Leon Swammy bowled Hicks for 42. RHT Bakewell did not give up with Narine rallying with the tail. However, the youthful Tucber Park team held their nerves to bowl out RHT Bakewell for 184, to win by 6 runs. Narine remained unbeaten on 45. Seitaram finished with 2 for 23, Swammy 2 for 25 and Smith 2 for 36.
At the post-match presentation ceremony, captain of the victorious Tucber Park team, Keon DeJesus collected the winning trophy and cash incentive of $60,000.00. DeJesus’ opposite number, James Fraser received the runner up trophy and $30,000.00. Young Deonarine was named man of the match and best batsman and Seitaram took the best bowler prize.
Speaking on behalf of the BCB, Angela Haniif thanked the teams that participated in the competition, the media, the umpires, Guysuco, Albion Estate and above all, The New Building Society Limited for sponsoring such a large tournament. She said that most if not all of the current national and West Indies senior and junior players from Berbice played in this competition some time in their career. Berbice manager of the NBS, Rana Persaud stated that his company has faith in the current BCB and will continue to support the game in the county and across the country.

Steve Deonarine collects the Man-of-the-Match award for his match-saving innings
Steve Deonarine collects the Man-of-the-Match award for his match-saving innings