Various Associations launch Senior Men’s Football League

As was predicted by the Guyana Football Federation (GFF), Regional Member Associations (RMAs) have, over the weekend, been rolling out their plans for their Senior Men’s Football League, slated to kick off across the country on May 15.

Essequibo/Pomeroon FA
Seven clubs affiliated to the Essequibo/Pomeroon Football Association (EPFA) are set and ready to battle for supremacy in their senior league, which was unveiled on Thursday last. President Magzene Stewart at the launch challenged the clubs to bring their best to the playing field as the top two clubs would be rewarded by being involved in a national play-off with their peers from the other RMAs.

EPFA President Magzene Stewart takes time out for a pic with fellow EPFA Executives and club representatives following the launch of their Senior League

“I, first of all, would like to commend each of you for answering the call to compete in this league that will create history as it would be the first time that all nine Regional Associations would be kicking off their senior leagues at the same time.
“The Guyana Football Federation, I can assure you, have been fully supportive of all that’s happening in the continued development of the game on and off the field of play and as a member, we would not be left out. So come out, do your best, and let the games begin.”
The competing clubs are Queenstown, Mainstay Gold Star, Hood Hope, Henrietta, Dartmouth, Wakapao, and Tapakuma.
Each of the clubs was presented with balls, bibs, and cones, compliments of the GFF and the EPFA.

Rupununi FA: 26 clubs to do battle
Not to be outdone, the Executive and General Council of the Rupununi Football Association (RFA), another of the nine RMAs affiliated with the GFF, on Saturday last unveiled its plans for this shortened Senior League season.
RFA President Norbert Williams disclosed that they were super excited to be part and parcel of rolling out their senior championship along with the other RMAs on May 15, which will be a historical day for the sport and the game.
“We here in the RFA, like our colleague Associations, are very pleased and excited to be a part of this monumental initiative by the GFF, which has been working with us to take the development of the game to higher levels. It’s going to be very challenging for us as you know that this Association is very vast, but we are up to the challenge and together, we will make this happen, and successfully so.”

Rupununi Football Association’s launch in Central Lethem

President Williams also disclosed that given the expansive area of GFF’s largest RMA, they did launches in various areas. Clubs in the North held theirs at Annai; Aishalton was the venue for clubs in the Deep South.
East Central clubs held theirs in the village of Nappi, with Central Lethem hosting the RFA launch.
A total of 26 clubs drawn from six districts will be battling for the right to be called champions of the RFA.
These are the competing clubs:
North – Surama, Challengers, Paiwomak Warriors, F.C Basin, Falcons, Spartans, Strikers
East Central Rupununi – Flash, Galaxy Warriors, Kanuku Harpies, Kanuku Warriors, Hiawa Undertakers, Moco Moco, Terminators
Central – Far East United, Gladiators, Tabatinga, Snatchers, Guyana Rush Saints, Rising Stars
Deep South – Titans United, Snipers
South Central – Potarinau Sky Kings, Shirriri
South Pakaraimas – Seven K, United
The League will commence on Sunday at the Tabatinga Sports Complex in Lethem, Central Rupununi, and conclude on August 13, 2022, at Aranaputa Sports Ground in the North Rupununi. Each of the registered clubs was presented with equipment from the GFF.

East Bank FA: St Cuthbert’s/Pakuri Warriors to debut
Fierce clashes will be the order of the day when the East Bank Football Association (EBFA) kicks off its 2022 Senior League on May 15. While no venue has been confirmed, EBFA President (ag) Orien Angoy has expressed joy that they were finally able to get back into competition following a two-year hiatus owing to the COVID-19 pandemic.

EBFA Executive Members along with Club Reps following their Senior League Launch on Saturday last

Representatives from the 11 participating clubs converged at the GFF National Training Centre at Providence on Saturday last to be briefed on plans as well as receive the equipment donated by the national federation for clubs contesting the nine-RMA leagues which will all kick off on Sunday across Guyana.
Present were Agricola Red Triangle, Diamond United, Friendship, Grove Hi Tech, Herstelling Raiders, Kuru Kururu Warriors, Samatta Point Kaneville, Soesdyke Falcons, Timehri Panthers, Swan and St Cuthbert’s/Pakuri Warriors.
There will be a technical meeting of all the clubs via Zoom on Tuesday evening.

Upper Demerara FA
Some 13 clubs affiliated to the Upper Demerara Football Association (UDFA) will battle from Sunday, May 15, when the 2022 UDFA/GFF League starts at the Mackenzie Sports Club.
This disclosure was made by UDFA President Wainwright Bethune when a briefing took place at the boardroom of the Linden Town Council last Saturday.
Bethune acknowledged that this return of competitive football in the Upper Demerara area was made possible by funding provided by the GFF for operational costs while the association will be seeking corporate sponsors to ensure the prize monies— which are tagged at $800,000 for the winners, with the second-placed team receiving $400,000, third $200,000 and fourth $100,000 – are secured.

Several clubs received kits following UDFA’s launch

He called for the support of the clubs and fans, and welcomed Sub Region Two Club Kwakwani Strikers back into the competitive fold as Elite club Milerock FC also was named as one of the clubs which will vie for supremacy. Bethune said: “With the support of the clubs, we know that this league will be a success.”
This tournament is expected to run simultaneously with those of the other GFF-affiliated associations as it fits into the Federation’s Member Football Associations Programme (MFAP) scheme of play, which takes responsibilities for all the operational costs of these tournaments.
The competition will be among Milerock , Kwakwani Strikers, Hi Stars, Coomacka United, Botafago, Blueberry Hill United, Amelia’s Ward Panthers, Winners Connection, Topp XX, Eagles United, Net Rockers, Capital FC, and Silver Shattas who received kits inclusive of bibs, cones, and balls at the end of the briefing, compliments of the GFF.