Zeeburg, Rising Stars to battle for title

Amerith Rocky Rai Memorial T20 Cricket…

– Media XI to oppose Oddyssey Transport

Zeeburg and ‘Rising Stars A’ will clash in the finals of the Amerith Rai Memorial T20 Cricket tournament set to be played at West Meten-Meer-Zorg Cricket Club ground on Wednesday May 1, 2019 at 13:00 hrs.

Malcolm Hubbard

The two ‘Zone A’ teams booked their place in the final when Zeeburg defeated Omesh XI and Rising Stars defeated Canal #2 Sports Club in the semi-final playoffs. Zeeburg will start as favourites to win this encounter, having in their team such stalwarts as Balbinder Shivpersaud, the tournament’s leading run-scorer, and the exciting Ricardo Poloram who has proven to be a threat in the middle overs.
At top of the order, Yutesh Dhanpaul, Malcolm Hubbard and Mark Jeffers will support a strong Zeeburg batting lineup; and Jeffers and Hubbard will lead the team’s bowling attack.

Marvin Cheong

The strong, all-round team ‘Rising Stars A’ from Canal #1 will be looking to spoil Zeeburg’s unbeaten run in this competition. They have in their lineup all-rounder Marvin Cheong, one of the top wicket-takers in the competition. He will be supported by hard-hitting batsmen Travis Cato, Anand Bharat and Shane Persaud.
Winner of the finals will pocket two hundred thousand dollars ($200,000), a trophy, and bragging rights; while the runner-up will have to settle for one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) and a trophy.

Troy Khan

In an exhibition match starting at 9:30 hrs, Odyssey Transport Services Inc. will take on the Guyana Media IX at the same venue. The strong Odyssey team will come from Seon Alleyne, Feroze Barakat, Mohamed Willie, Waheed Barakat, Mike Barakat, Kishan Deonarine, Krishna Panday, Ramlall Parasram, Harold Baksh, Jetendra Hussein, Anthony Ferreira Snr., Anthony Ferreira Jnr., and Troy Khan.
Umpires of the match are Eion Washington and Ravindra Ramgobin. This event is sponsored by F.A.B Mining Company Inc.