BCB to host 2nd Dr Tulsi Dyal Singh Cricket Academy from August 12

The Berbice Cricket Board (BCB), as part of its ongoing effort to unearth and develop new cricketing talents in Berbice, would be hosting its 2nd Annual Dr. Tulsi Dyal Singh Cricket Academy next week.

Some members of the Berbice Under-19 team will participate in the cricket academy

The five-day cricket academy would start on Monday, August 12, and would conclude on Friday, August 16. A panel of coaches headed by Level III Coach Winston Smith would be in charge of the academy.
BCB President Hilbert Foster has said the main objectives of the academy are to improve the players’ knowledge of the game, to instill in them the importance of physical fitness, to correct faults in their techniques, and to improve their all-round cricket.
Special emphasis would also be placed on preparing the youths to be sports ambassadors of Berbice and role models to their peers.
Foster said the BCB was investing heavily in its youth cricketers as they are the ones who would ensure the legacy of Berbice Cricket continues in the future. A list of 60 players has been invited to attend the academy, which starts at 9:00 hours daily. The list was compiled by Coach Winston Smith and Selector Leslie Solomon based on the players’ availability for Berbice next year at the junior level.
The BCB President has made it quite clear that attendance at the 2019 Cricket Academy would be compulsory for all the invited players. Players who are overseas on vacation would be excused once a written excuse is submitted.
Foster said he has observed a superstar attitude being developed among some junior players who have made the National Team, and he declared quite clearly that such an attitude would not be tolerated once he is the President of the Berbice Cricket Board.
The BCB boss noted that no one is too big to learn, including himself, and as such every youth cricketer would have to take advantage of the investment been made into their career by the Berbice Cricket Board.
The Coaching Staff would concentrate on improving the cricketers’ batting, bowling and fielding skills, while great effort would be made to establish a pool of wicket- keepers for each junior level.
Eleven young females who have been identified as the next generation of outstanding Berbice players have also been invited to participate in the camp, as the BCB strives to retain their two Inter-County titles at the 20/20 and 50-Overs levels.
The young cricketers would also be involved in several classroom lectures on topics such as History of the Game, Rules of Cricket, Structure of Berbice Cricket, Personal Hygiene, Suicide, HIV/AIDS, Drug Abuse, Importance of Education, and Importance of Discipline.
AT the end of the Academy, several outstanding players would be awarded under the categories of Best Batsman, Best Fast Bowler, Best Spinner, Most Committed, Most Disciplines, and Player of the Academy.

The following players are asked to report to the Albion Ground at 08.30 hours sharp for registration.
Under-13: Romario Ramdehol, Sadeen La Rose, Rampersaud Ramnauth, Romesh Bharatt, Aftab Boodhoo, Travis Kadir, Khemraj Tika, Raphael Fraser and Deoraj Ramjib.
Under-15:Christopher Deroop, Devon Sobhai, Tameshwar Mahadeo, Mark Ramalho, Braskar Dhamal, Avishkar Persaud, Sanjay Algoo, Kumar Deopersaud, Damion Cecil, Niquan Samuels, Abdul Munroe, Boodram Lakeram, Matthew Pottaya and Salim Khan.
Under-17: Jonathan Rampersaud, Marvon Prashad, Gourav Ramesh, Sarwan Chaitnarine, Zeymul Ramsammy, Tomani Caesar, Daniel Milne, Hemraj Akash Heralall, Quacy Aulder, Insan Shazam, Davendra Ganesh, Surendra Ramcharitar, Brandon Mangal, Vettori Latchman and Brandon Nandlall.
Under-19: Seon Glasgown, Nigel Deodat, Chanderpaul Govindan, Mohabir Sewraj, Ricardo Ramdehol, Shamar Angel, Dave Ramgolam, Aaron Beharry, Doorasammy Mahadeo, Reyad Karim, Darren Brigadier, Gevon Schultz, Leon Swammy, Carl Gilgeous, Fawaz Gafoor.
Female Under-19/Senior: Trisha Hardat, Marian Samaroo Abigail Kishun, Uma Matadin, Kimmone Thomas, Ashley Ramnauth, Ashmini Munisar, Ameera Adams, Kassie Munroe, Dian Prahalad, and La Fona Gilgeous.