Cycle Awards Ceremony set for today

ꟷ Briton John set to claim top award

After a highly contested year in cycling, top cyclists will be awarded for their performances recorded throughout the year in an awards ceremony set for today, Saturday December 7, at the St Stanislaus Secondary School auditorium from 18:00h.

The top cyclists will be awarded in four categories: Seniors, of which Briton John, Michael Anthony, Jamual John, Curtis Dey, Paul De Nobrega and Andre Green are the top riders in that order.

Briton and Jamual John and Michael Anthony ended in the top three of the points qualification system

For the Juniors, the National Junior Cycling Champion Ajay Goopiall will be awarded the top cyclist in his category.
Ralph Seenarine and Sherwin Sampson are the other junior wheelsmen who performed exceptionally well in their class. In the Veterans’ category, Under-50 rider Junior Nyles, Paul Choo-Wee-Nam and Alex Mendes appear in that order. In the Over-50 category, Ian Jackson, Kennard Lovell and Andy Spencer will be awarded in that order.
In the female category, Denise Jeffery, who enjoyed a good year, copping the National Road Race and Time Trails championships will be awarded the top female cyclist in 2019.
The Most Improved Cyclist in 2019 will be awarded to Briton John, who, riding for the first year as a senior cyclist, won that category as well. Winner of the Most Races in 2019 will be awarded to Jamual John, who won 10 races during a successful 2019 cycling season. (Brandon Corlette)