GFF shortlists national team ahead of Suriname engagement

An 18-man Golden Jaguars squad has been announced to play the Suriname Senior Men’s National Team this Saturday as the Golden Jaguars wrap up their training matches before Guyana’s final CONCACAF Nation’s League Qualifier against Belize on March 23.
The squad, while predominantly Guyana-based, includes two International-based players – Sheldon Holder and Walter Moore respectively. The latter arrived in Guyana on Monday last. The squad also includes two goalkeepers, six defenders, six midfielders and four forwards.
Guyana-based Assistant Coach Charles Pollard spoke to the criteria used to inform selection of the 18 shortlisted players: “Selection was down to hard work. Over the eight weeks, the players have demonstrated dedication, willpower and good attitude towards the programme. Fitness was one of the key areas considered. They rose from an amateur level to an almost professional level in this regard. Tactical awareness was also another element considered, which is one of the areas there is still some work to be done in; but the players have been showing great improvement towards the playing philosophy.”
Saturday’s match, scheduled for the Pierkhan Stadium in Nickerie, Suriname from 16:30hrs or 15:30hrs (local time), will see the team playing a stronger opponent following previous training matches with Regional Member Association teams and one from an elite club. Pollard said while the results are not the key focus, “an overall good performance will be required.”
Among the technical squad are: Head Coach Michael Johnson; Assistant Coach Charles Pollard; Goalkeeper Coach Eon De Veira; Team Doctor Dr. Kojo Sandiford; Physiotherapist Quacy Paddy; Head of Sports Science Wilson Toledo; Head Of Recruitment, Faizal Khan; Team Operations Manager Rawle Adams; Equipment Manager Trevor Burnett, and Assistant Equipment Manager Levi Braithwaite.
The training matches are part of the preparation for Guyana’s final CONCACAF Nations League qualifier against Belize at the National Track and Field Centre at Leonora.
The Shortlisted squad includes:
Alex Murray
Akel Clarke
Sherwin Skeete
Walter Moore
Kevin Layne
Quincy Adams
Solomon Austin
William Europe
Trayon Bobb
Leo Lovell
Clive Nobrega
Vurlon Mills
Pernel Shultz
Kelsey Benjamin
Gregory Richardson
Dellon Lanferman
Delroy Fraser
Sheldon Holder