GTTA names 15 for 2019 Caribbean Junior and Cadet Table Tennis Championships

…Association appealing for corporate support

The Guyana Table Tennis Association (GTTA) has named Guyana’s power packed National Junior and Cadet teams that would be representing Guyana at the Caribbean Junior and Cadet Table Tennis Championships, scheduled for April 11th to 18th 2019 in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic.
The teams were named following the successful hosting of the National Junior Table Tennis Championships staged at the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall on the weekend of March 1st-3rd 2019.
The championships will be used as the qualification event for the Pan American Junior and Cadet Table Tennis Championships scheduled for Cancun, Mexico in June 2019.

Jonathan Van Lange

These championships engage male and female players aged 18 years and 15 years and under respectively.
Guyana’s most formidable challenge will be posed by the 15 years and under boys team, which have an abundance of talent. There is the National Boys 18 and 15 years and under Champion, Jonathon Van Lange of The Bishop’s High School. There is also the immensely talented Kaysan Ninvalle of Chase Academy; and there are the talented St Stanislaus College student Isaiah Layne and The Bishops’ High School product Krystian Sahadeo.
There are some challenges which the association will have to navigate in the 18 years boys division, given that most of the players are approaching the examination cycle. As such, this team will come from newly graduated Immigration officer and national 18 years and under 2018champion Nicholas Romain; the talented and determined Jamal Nicholas, Terrence Rausche, Multi-talented Niran Bissu and Yuedistir Persaud
Newcomer emerging talent Crystal Melville will be participating in the girls 15 years and under category. This is her second time being named on the national table tennis team, after being selected in the under-13 years in 2014.
The GTTA met parents on Tuesday 11th March to discuss the plans and support mechanism for Guyana’s participation.
Full list selected players:
Boys 15 years and Under
Girls 15 years and Under
Jonathan Van Lange
Thuraia Thomas
Kaysan Ninvalle
Crystal Melville
Isaiah Layne
Nkechi Mc Crae
Krystian Sahadeo
Jasmine Billinghi

Boys 18 years and Under
Girls 18 years and Under
Nicholas Romain
Neveah Clarkston
Jamal Nicholas
Aneka Philips
Terrence Rausche
Niran Bissu
Yuedistir Persaud