Guyanese batsmen, bowlers dominate opening round in ORSCA competition

Former Guyana Under-19 batsman Rovendra Mandolall struck an entertaining 130 to inspire Sunrisers to a comfortable 53-run win over Challengers on Saturday when actions got underway in the opening round of the 2016 Ontario Round-arm Softball Cricket Association (ORSCA) 20-over competition.
Sunrisers piled up a sufficient 203-8 from the allocation of 20-overs while Challengers responded with 150-7 off 20-overs.
The right-hander Mandolall hit 19 sixes during his stay at the crease while he got support from fellow Essequibian Jaimini Singh who made 36.
In Challengers’ innings, Harry Sukhram and Nando Jaglall scored 46 runs apiece while former West Indies and Guyana Under-19 opener Hemnarine Chattergoon chipped in with 36.
In the same West End Division, Rishie Shivrathan grabbed five wickets for 20 runs from 3.3 overs to lift Pegasus to an emphatic 80-run win over United Warriors while Rishi Sukhoo also snared five wickets for 27 from 3.5 overs to help Berbice Boys beat 11-Man Army by 73 runs.
Other outstanding individual performances from the East End Division include, Azam Haniff scored 80 and took four for 19 from four overs to see Masters defeat Brampton Rangers by seven wickets.

Rovendra Mandolall
Rovendra Mandolall

Roy Sitaram got seven wickets for nine runs from three overs including a hat-trick for Spartans who thrashed Jay Auto Body by a resounding 139-run win.
The competition is set to continue on Saturday with several more matches across the Greater Toronto Area.
Meanwhile, President of the Association, Mitch Bacchus expressed great satisfaction with the way things unfolded for the opening round and thanked all the teams for their continued participation.
A large number of players who would have represented Guyana at the youth and senior levels have turned out to represent their respective clubs again this year.
Apart from Mandolall and Chattergoon, some of the other players are: Azib Ali Hanif, Zaheer Haniff, Troy Gobin, Ejaz Mohamed, Sunil Dhaniram, Shiv Seeram, Devon Ramnauth, Fazil Gani, Damodar Daesrath, Shaun Deonandan, Riaz Kadir, Krishna Arjune among others.