Hamilton Green 9-a-side Inter-Ward Cup concludes May 5

The organisers of this year’s Hamilton Green Cup Inter-Ward/Village 9-a-side Knockout Football Tournament are putting everything in place to provide fans with a fitting conclusion to the annual event.
The final is set to be played on May 5 (Arrival Day), at the Den Amstel Ground, West Coast Demerara (WCD), and according to Coordinator Lennox Arthur, they are busy preparing to ensure that spectators have a great time throughout the day, with action set to kick off at 16:00h with round-of-16 play, before the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final are played.
Arthur is asking all teams to be at the venue by 15:00h to ensure that there is a prompt start to the day’s proceedings.
The opening salvo of round-of-16 action will see Timehri – with players such as Seon David, Colwyn Cort and Sheldon Holder in their line-up – tackle Mahaicony, who will be spearheaded by Delbert Wilson, Sheldon Toney and Bertie Shepherd.
Tyrone Khan’s Soesdyke then take on Liliendaal in what is anticipated to be an exciting affair.
Khan will be supported by the likes of Delon Smith and Alvin Adams while Liliendaal’s quest for victory will be led by Anthony Sancho, Otto Jones, and Akeem Saul.
The Mocha versus Charlestown encounter is a virtual final with the Stewart brothers Orville and Dorville and Kevin Gordon expected to lead the former’s pursuit of a win while Keiron Solomon, Jamal Cozier, Jermin Junor and Devon Charles are the key players for the latter.
Kevin Humphrey, Michael Thomas, and Keron Boyce will lead Pouderoyen in their clash against Bagotville, who will depend on the services of Corwin Wright, Mark Chester, and Brian Fredericks to orchestrate a win.
Anthony and Ashley Hardin and Maxwell Trapp will be the lynchpins for Goed Fortuin in their skirmish against De Kinderen, who will have in their line-up Colin Henry, Steffon Coleman, and Romel Medas.
What more could be said of the Sophia v Bourda Blues game, which has players the calibre of Peter and Ernie Smith and Jermaine Nedd starring for Sophia, with Lenox Cort, Tevin Curry and Joshua Brathwaite donning colours for the Blues.
Delon Lanferman, Kevyn Murray, Kobe Kingston and Dwayne Wilson will lead hosts Den Amstel Back Street’s attempt to advance while opponents Zeelugt have Avery Fraser, Dillon Schultz, and Jason Peters to rely on for victory.
National player Trayon Bobb, Jamaal Harvey and Seon Bobb will represent Uitvlugt in their encounter against Vreed-en-Hoop, who will be spearheaded by Curtis Garraway, Trvon Abrams, and Jamal Mounter.
Teams will be battling for a chance to claim the John Fernandes $300,000 first prize and Prime Minister trophy along with hampers from Ricks and Sari. The second-place team will take away the Courtney Benn-sponsored $100,000, third $60,000 put up by Techno Mills and fourth $40,000 donated by Ready Mix along with the respective trophies. All the trophies have been sponsored by Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo.
Also at stake are the individual rewards for the Most Goals, whose winner will take home a dinette chair from China Trading, while the runner-up will be presented with a Lazy Boy chair from AH&L Kissoon, along with the Best Goalkeeper, who will claim the Minister of Natural Resources trophy.
Among the sponsors so far are Techno Mills, Ready Mix, Sattaur Gafoor, EC Veira, BEV Enterprises, BK International, IPA, New Thriving, Ricks and Sari, E-Networks, Starr Computers, NAMILCO, Cummings Electrical, National Sports Commission, Star Entertainment, Alfro Alphonso, the Guyana Police Force, Guyoil, the Minister of State, Prime Minister and the Legal Affairs Ministry.