Headquarters surge to another Police Inter-Division athletics title

A dominance which dates back to 1998, when they lost the championship, Headquarters retained the Guyana Police Force Inter-Division Athletics title on Friday at the Police Sports Club Ground, Eve Leary.

The formidable unit amassed 624 points to win ahead of ‘A’ Division, which had 337 points and Country Division on 195 points.

Julio Sinclair was deemed Champion ‘A’ Class Male Athlete with 30 points, while Marvin Tinnis was runner-up on 28 points. On the female side, Shion Boyer copped the local Champion Athlete with 28 points while Kizia Bess was runner-up on 26 points.

In the “B”Class, Headquarters’ Tevin Garraway was the Male Athlete with 30 points while Keon Spellen came in second. Tyrell Peters got the Male Youth Club top athlete award with Joanna Archer taking home the female prize.

In the overseas action, Trinidad and Tobago’s Che Hart ran 10.6 seconds to win the ‘A’ Class 100m ahead of Tinnis (10.8s) and Trevor Scotland (11.2s) respectively. Compton Caesar won the male youth club 100m in 10.6 seconds.

Guyana Defence Force’s Davin Fraser blasted to the invitational 100m in 10.2 seconds ahead of team-mate, Akeem Stewart (10.6s) and Terron Montfort (11.0) in that order. Deshaun Skeete won the youth club girls 100m.

Hart won the ‘A’ Class race for Trinidad in 22.1 seconds ahead of Tinnis (22.6s) and Keith Roberts (23.0) in that order. Hart also won the 400m in 46.0 seconds with Suriname’s Gilberto Gittens (46.2s) second and Simon Francois (1:08.3) third.

Bess won the female race in 1.00.2 ahead of Tanisha Isaacs (1:10.5) and Nadia Cox (1:13.3). Dummett took home the ‘B’ Class gold medal in 49.4 seconds ahead of Kareem Purch (50.6s) and Linton Mentis (51.4s) respectively.

‘A’ Division won the male 4x100m race ahead of ‘B’ Division and Headquarters respectively, while Headquarters took home the female honours ahead of ‘A’ Division and ‘B’ Division in that order.

Headquarters swept the women’s 200m with Onika Eastman winning in 24.9 seconds and Jevina Sampson (25.4s) second and Bess (26.6) third. Garraway won the male race in 21.4 seconds ahead of Kevin Abbensetts (21.5s) and Winston Dummett (21.7) respectively.