NSC’s Independence Three-Stage Cycle Race postponed

Top riders will be in action at the three-stage race

The National Sports Commission’s (NSC’s) Independence Three-Stage Cycle Race which was set to pedal off on May 13/14 has been postponed. This is according to the Guyana Cycling News (GCN), which made the announcement on the evening of May 4.

Alex Leung has shown great promise in recent times

“The annual Independence three-stage road race has been postponed. The Guyana Cycling Federation will announce the new date within the week”, the statement posted on the GCN Facebook read.
According to the Guyana Cycling Calendar for 2023, the National Championship is billed for June 18-25, and the NSC’s Annual Six-Stage Race will be run from September 7-10.
Based on reports, this year’s Independence Three-Stage Cycle Race has an estimated $1.2 million in cash and prizes up for grabs among the four different categories of contestants. Defending champion for this race is Akil Campbell of Trinidad and Tobago.
The Three-Stage will feature an Elite race category, as well as a Junior, Veteran and Prime race category. First stage is expected to commence at Corriverton, Guyana’s easternmost town, and proceed to New Amsterdam, the main town in East Berbice. Second stage rolls off from Rosignol, WCB, and ends at Carifesta Avenue in Georgetown; and the final stage would leave Kara Kara in Linden to culminate at Homestretch Avenue in Georgetown for the grand finish.
Notably, the first-place prize has been increased this year, with the top rider bagging $150,000; while second, third, fourth and fifth place finishers would also be rewarded substantially.
Winners of the Veterans race would be rewarded with $70,000, $50,000 and $30,000 for first, second and third place finish respectively, while those in the Junior category would receive rewards that are similar to those in the Veterans category. For the prime race, a small monetary award is set aside for every participant involved.
Stage prizes for this event would range from $15,000 to $30,000. All winners would also be given trophies for participation.