Patadin’s all-round performance guides Majestic to easy win

…Vantull impresses with quick-fire scoring

Damion Vantull scored a quick-fire 40 off 18 balls

The action continued in the Caribbean Fest 40-over tournament on Sunday at the Baisley Pond Park where the Majestic Cricket Club duked it out with Melbourne NY Alliance in a one-sided affair.
Last weekend, Majestic registered their first loss. None of their batsmen managed to click in that game as they suffered a humiliating loss. Coming back from the drawing board, Majestic impressed from the get-go, they showed why they were one of the top teams in the competition. Chris Patadin and Damion Vantull, in particular, were very impressive in their innings of 135 and 40 respectively.
Majestic CC won the toss and elected to bat under excellent batting conditions. The in-form Derick Narine could only afford 13, but this brought the other in-form batsman, Chris Patadin to the crease. It was as if he woke up in beast mode, he began, from the get-go, to smash the ball. Every section of the Baisley Park felt his brutal assault. In the end, he was able to score an unbeaten 135 off 100 balls including seven boundaries and nine towering maximums. But it wasn’t a one-man show: Damion Vantull continued his impressive run as well with his Andre Russell-like assaults, he blasted 40 from 18 balls, including one boundary and five maximums, in the back end of the innings. In the end, Majestic were able to post 270-6 in their allotted 35 overs.

Chris Patadin scored 135* and bowled 2-34

Melbourne needed a challenging 271 for victory; if they could exploit Majestics’ weakness like the previous challengers did, they could have taken the victory easily. But Melbourne failed and were bundled out for 216 in 33.5 overs. Richie Balkaran’s 54; Ryan Girdhary’s 64 and Parsaram Beepat’s 28 were not enough to save them. Majestic showed composure and discipline in their bowling effort and were able to bag an easy two points. Bowling for Majestic were Patadin with 2-34, Narine 1-40, Suraj Seepaul 1-37, Pranay Das 1-31, Robin Rooplall 1-41 and Avi Dhanpaul 1-33.