PNC executive, APNU/AFC GECOM commissioner among 66 national awardees

…GRA tax boss, Lincoln Lewis on list

The list of persons who will be given National Awards by President David Granger for the 50th Republican Anniversary is out and among those making the list is a People’s National Congress (PNC) executive and several known sympathisers of the ruling party – APNU/AFC.

Veteran trade unionist and APNU/AFC supporter, Lincoln Lewis will be receiving a GAA

According to the list which was released by the Ministry of the Presidency, People’s National Congress (PNC) executive Cheryl Sampson and party member Mark Archer will both be receiving the Golden Arrow of Achievement (GAA).
Sampson was elected to the 15-member PNC executive at the party’s biennial congress back in 2018. Sampson, a veteran teacher by profession, is a long-time member of the party and also served as a parliamentarian.
Archer is the current Communications Director at the Ministry of the Presidency and a former army officer, who served with the President in the Guyana Defence Force. Meanwhile, APNU/AFC-nominated Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) Commissioner, Charles Corbin will be receiving a Cacique Crown of Honor (CCH).

PNC executive Cheryl Sampson will be receiving a Golden Arrow of Achievement

Trade unionist and General Secretary of the Guyana Bauxite and General Workers Union (GB&GWU), Lincoln Lewis is also slated to receive the GAA. While Lewis’ contribution to trade unionism is well known, so too is his open advocacy for APNU/AFC ahead of the General and Regional Elections. Mark Benschop, another ardent supporter of the coalition Government, who was previously accused of treason, is also set to receive an award, this time a Medal of Service.
Another entrant on the list is Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) Commissioner General Godfrey Statia.

APNU/AFC-nominated GECOM Commissioner Charles Corbin

Meanwhile, long-time Government pathologist Dr Nehaul Singh is also included on the list of awardees. They are both in line to receive the CCH.
Ambassador Charlene Phoenix, who was involved in the shakeup at the Foreign Affairs Ministry last year that saw her replacing former Director General Audrey Jardine-Waddell as the Ministry’s first Permanent Secretary, is also set to receive the CCH.
Other notable awardees include Anglican Bishop of Guyana, Reverend Charles Alexander Davidson; Police Complaints Authority (PCA) Chairman, retired Justice William Ramlall (CCH), Mother’s Union Worldwide President, Sheran Harper – wife of Guyanese cricket legend, Roger Harper; Police Service Commission Chairman, retired Assistant Commissioner of Police Paul Slowe (CCH).

GRA Commissioner General Godfrey Statia

Meanwhile, Fire Chief Marlon Gentle will be receiving the Disciplined Services Star. Retired Assistant Commissioner of Police and former F Division Commander, Kevin Adonis is slated to receive the Disciplined Services Medal.


Order of Roraima
1. Prime Minister of Barbados, Mia Amor Mottley

Order of Service
Cacique’s Crown of Honour
1. The Right Reverend Charles Alexander Davidson
2. Dr Abraham Agustus Clemwood Fung-A-Fat
3. Dr Neville Bhagwandeen Gobin
4. Edmond Montague Grant
5. Professor John Edward Greene
6. Dr Cecil Edward Harricharran
7. Dr Fawcett Anthony Jeffrey
8. Dr Dalgleish Joseph
9. Ambassador Charlene Alexis Phoenix
10. Justice William Rajendra Ramlall
11. Claude Augustus Saul
12. Dr Nehaul Prashad Singh
13. Paul Esmond Slowe
14. Michael Orrin David Somersall
15. Godfrey Steve Statia

Golden Arrow of Achievement
1. Mark Anthony Archer
2. Mavis Anita Benn
3. Marlan Kwesi Cole
4. Charles Mitroy Corbin
5. Reverend Roshanna Gillis
6. Catherina Penda Guyan
7. Sheran Roxanna Harper
8. Troy Henry
9. Loris Emille Heywood
10. Ranald Andrew Jacobs
11. Pastor Richard Avert James
12. Edward Jameson
13. Zaida Joaquin
14. Lincoln Brandon Lewis
15. Frederick McWilfred
16. Cita Indranie Pilgrim
17. Cheryl Sampson
18. Olive Beverly Sampson
19. Varshnie Udho Singh
20. Clinton Murphy Williams
21. Apostle Jason Clifton Yorrick
Medal of Service
1. Wesley Adrian Benjamin
2. Mark Anthony Benschop
3. Paulette Patricia Bollers
4. Terrence Glenberth Boston
5. Donna Bowen
6. Lucille Elaine Cadogan
7. Beverly Clenkien
8. Jenny Benn-Daly
9. Ann Pamela Forde
10. Gregory Douglas Fraser
11. Claire Ann Goring
12. Virgil Harding
13. Phyllis Erica Jackson
14. Glenyss Barbara James
15. Jainarine Maraj
16. Leon Randolph Mc Donald
17. Doreen Evelyn Blackman Ng-A-Qui
18. Kissoon Dyal Persaud
19. Premnauth Prashad
20. Urica Yernesi Primus
21. Deserdeen Roberts
22. Kaylan Persaud Sharma
23. Beverly Ann Somerset

Military Service Medal
1. Colonel Raul Kenneth Jerrick
2. Lieutenant Colonel Denzil Walter Carmichael

Disciplined Services Star
1. Chief Fire Officer, Marlon Anthony Gentle

Disciplined Services Medal
1. Assistant Commissioner of Police,
Kevin Adonis
2. Assistant Commissioner of Police,
Edgar Mortimer Thomas
3. Deputy Chief Fire Officer,
Jacqueline Bonita Greene