RHT Pepsi, Albion among victorious teams in rain-affected 1st round

BCB/Shimron Hetmyer Intermediate Tournament…

The Berbice Cricket Board’s (BCB) Shimron Hetmyer Intermediate Tournament bowled off on Sunday. Several matches were able to be played despite heavy rainfalls which battered most of the grounds scheduled for use.
Among the teams registering victories were defending Champions Rose Hall Town Pepsi, Albion Community Centre, Whim National, No.73 Young Warriors, Dukestown Cricket Club, D’Edward Cricket Club, Skeldon Titans Cricket Club, No.72 All Stars Cricket Club, No. 43 Scorpion and No. 72 Cut and Load.
Former National Youth Players Kevin Sinclair 9 for 13 versus Kildonan Cricket Club and Albion’s Sharaz Ramcharran 6 for 20 were among the top performers in the opening round. Results are as follows:
At Chesney, Albion Community Centre Cricket Club defeated Chesney Cricket Club by 63 runs in a match reduced to 22-Overs per side. Albion were able to post 185 for 7 in 22-Overs. As Kandasammy Surjunarine 58, Sarwan Chaitnarine 33 and Adrian Sukwah 19. Bowling for Chesney was D. Harilall 5 for 34.
Chesney Cricket Club in chase of their target were only able to muster 122 all out in 18.3 Overs. As Ricky Amoi 35 and A. Gajabi 18 were the only two to contribute substantial figures. Bowling for Albion were Sharaz Ramcharran 6 for 20, Kevin Umroa 2 for 21.
At Albion, Rose Hall Town Pepsi trashed Kildonan Cricket Club by 182 runs in a match reduced to 32 Overs.
Rose Hall Town Pepsi balsted their way to an agressive 226 for 4 in 32 Overs as Junior Sinclair 62, Jonathan Rampersaud 50, Kevlon Anderson 34, Shawn Pereira 20 not out highlighted the days play.
Kildonan Cricket Club in reply were bowled out for a disgraceful 34 in 13.2 Overs as Kevin Sinclair 9 for 13 spearheaded the win.
At No. 73 Ground, No. 73 Young Warriors defeated Scottsburg United by 130 runs.
No. 73 Young Warriors Cricket Club were able to post 228 all out in 34.5 Overs. Lakeram Latchman 32, Aftab Moneer 82 and Odraj Singh 39 highlighted the days play for YWCC. Bowling for Scottsburg were M. Raghuraj 4 for 53 and B. Tulsie 3 for 10.
Scottsburg United Cricket Club in reply could only manage 98 all out in 22.4 Overs. Akthar Nahar 37, Calvin Cort 21 not out were the only two substantial figures for Scottsburg. Lakeram Latchman 3 for 10, Azad Mohamed 4 for 10 and Rajesh Bishnauth 3 for 15 were able to take Scottsburg over the line.
At No. 48 Ground, Dukestown Cricket Club defeated No. 48 Challengers. Dukestown Cricket Club posted a target of 291 all out in 38 Overs. Top scoring were Errol Byass 68, Budram Sukhdeo 71 and Clavern Beresford 28.
Munesh Lalu 5 for 37, S. Baijnauth 2 for 37 and Delvin Baldeo 2 for 33 were the pick of the bowlers for the Challengers.
No. 48 Challengers Cricket Club in reply could only muster 161 all out as Balram Persaud 26, Devin Baldeo 37, Munesh Lalu 29 were the only double figures for the team. Clavern Beresford was able to bag 2 for 50.
At Crabwood Creek, Skeldon Titans defeated Crabwood Creek Cricket Club by 5 wickets. Crabwood Creek Cricket Club posted 117 all out in 32 Overs. Darshan Challitar 40 was the only topscoring for the team as Sherwin Murray 3 for 27, Fascid Bacchus 3 for 4 and C. Felix 2 for 21 were able to restrict their opponents to less than 120.
Skeldon Titans Cricket Club chased the total down in 18.3 overs as they ended the innings on 118-5. Top scoring were Gagendra Ramnarine 31 and Zerkeel Gordon 18. Bowling for Crabwood was Devendra Tamessar 3 for 29.
At No. 70 Ground, No. 72 All Stars defeated No. 70 M.Y.O Cricket Club by 7 wickets. No. 70 M.Y.O. Cricket Club posted 189 all out in 35 Overs as Jameel Asad 31, Niaz Khan 67 were the top scorers. Permeshwar Chatterpaul 3 for 39 and Pradeep Gobin 3 for 31 were the strike bowlers for the all stars.
No. 72 All Star Cricket Club ended their innings on 193 for 3 in 29-Overs. Soamdat Singh 136 (13×4, 10×6) and Mahendra Bhoj 43 were able to take them over the line despite Abbes Khan 2 for 36 and Niazi Khan 2 for 19.
No. 72 Cut and Load defeated No. 79 Spartan Cricket Club by 20 runs. No. 72 Cut and Load posted 95 all out in 21.3 Overs. D. Jaggernauth 26, Victor Pedro 27 were the top scorers. Omesh Khemraj 3 for 16, Omesh Mathura 2 for 16 and Naeem Yacoob 2 for 9 were the top bowlers.
At No. 43 Ground, No. 43 Scorpion Cricket Club defeated Yakusari Caribs Cricket Club by 82 runs. No. 43 Scorpion Cricket Club made 134 all out un 22.2 overs. A Grant 29, N Drepaul 58 were the top scorers, but they were out shined as N Ayana 5 for 6, R Ayana 2 for 25 and C Ayana 2 for 22 were able to walk away with respectable figures.
Yakusari Caribs Cricket Club were eventually bowled out for 52 in 14.1 Overs. M. Havery 4 for 29, Y. Danroop 3 for 13 and B. Deen 3 for 2 were the chief tormentors.
At D’Edward, D’Edward Cricket Club defeated Bush Lot United Cricket Club by 24 runs. The match was reduced to 20-Overs due to rain.
D’Edward Cricket Club was able to make 170 for 3 in 20-Overs. Devindra Lalsa 42, L. Sookra 52, H. Bridgelall 28 were the main players. S. Bhagwandas 2 for 24 was the only respectable figure.
Bush Lot United Cricket Club could only muster 146 all out in 19.4 overs as J. Dilchand 56, H. Darson 30, A. Maradek 39 lead the way. L. Sookra 2 for 6 and N. Rampersaud 2 for 28 were the pick of the bowlers.
At Whim, Whim National Cricket Club defeated Fyrish Cricket Club by 3 wickets. Fyrish Cricket Club was bowled out for 64 in 21-Overs. K. Deonarine 3 for 25, V. Samaroo 2 for 14 was enough to take Whim over the line.
Whim National Cricket Club despite a wobbly start were able to end with 65 for 7 in 21 Overs. As K. Deonarine 17, M. Charran 18 was just enough for the victory despite K. Subramani 4 for 19 and Y. Chinapen 2 for 10.