Romello Crawford wins 4th annual NA Mayor’s Race

Guyana’s National Road Race Champion Romello Crawford, who finished in the top three in Sunday’s Gold race in Essequibo, returned to Berbice and clinched victory in the fourth annual New Amsterdam Mayor’s Race on Tuesday.
A total of 16 starters pedalled from Coburg and Main Streets towards the Tacama Turn at Stanleytown and back to the point of origin for the finish after eight laps. The Team Jamison man completed the eight laps around the town in 60 minutes.
Following Crawford were Andre “Padlock” Green and Andrew Hicks in that order in the Open category. Crawford claimed three sprint prizes, while Hicks, Green and Jason Cameron each claimed one sprint prize. Guyana’s most consistent junior rider, Mario Washington, dominated his category, while Fitzory Tang finished ahead of Syborne Fernandes and Myron Rose in that order in the Veterans’ category. Daniel Rigby, an Over-50 Veteran, received a special prize for his participation.
This fourth annual New Amsterdam Mayor’s Race was held in commemoration of the New Amsterdam Town Council’s 130th anniversary. The event was organised by the Flying Ace cycling club under the leadership of Randolph Roberts.
Ms Winifred Heywood is the Mayor of New Amsterdam, and the theme for the town’s 130th anniversary was “New Amsterdam Town Council striving to combat COVID-19 in 2021: celebrating 130 years of service to you.”
The organisers have expressed gratitude to Eureka Labs, Isaacs Building Designs and accessories, Countrywide Stores, Homeline Designs Engineering and Associates, HD Petroleum, Modern Optical Service, and King Solomon Logistics among other business entities.